Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 08:18 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default I really need help picking out a 1366 board

This is first attempt a building a system so I am entirely confused since all of the motherboards look the same but I am wondering which offer better quality and future proof technologies. I am looking at these at the moment. Asus P6T Deluxe V2 , Gigabyte Ex58-UD4p, DFI UTx58. Basically I want a board that will last me 2-3 years and will be a good overclocker for a novice. Everyone at my local Canada Computers (AJAX) have Gigabytes for their i7 builds and they say the reason is price/preformance and the overall build quality of Gigabytes boards which they say Asus lacks both.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 08:52 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

asus or giga it's really just the past experience with both. I have had good and bad boards of all of the above. but for a first time overclocker i would say asus little easier to overclock in the bios
JMO.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 09:17 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gingerbee View Post
asus or giga it's really just the past experience with both. I have had good and bad boards of all of the above. but for a first time overclocker i would say asus little easier to overclock in the bios
JMO.
what board do you have and do you like it? thanks
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 09:19 AM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,591

My System Specs

Default

Same, i am happy with my Gigabyte board (with my entire specs for my computer in my signature)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 10:32 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

i am running a gigabyte DS4 for my 1366 socket and luv it
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 10:40 AM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,649

My System Specs

Default

For a first time clocker, go for the Gigabyte.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 10:50 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

really why gigabyte charlie3.0? i ask just because i have found asus to be a little more simplified bios then gigabyte over the years. that was my reasoning behind it anywho
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 11:38 AM
bissa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Kelowna BC
Posts: 1,160

My System Specs

Default

Gigabyte has a software OCing program. Which includes auto OCing section that allows you to click one button and restart to overclock. look up easytune 6, that will give you more information.
__________________
Strong like hummingbird, swift like oak.

I'm sorry july, I couldn't see you behind all that feruary.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 11:43 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

so does asus.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old August 2, 2009, 12:13 PM
Airshehan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 211
Default

If your into overclocking, I recommend the Asus Rampage 2! It's a bit of a pricey board but, you won't be disappointed with it.
__________________
Dell XPS 630i / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.67GHz / Stock Cooling (Temporary) / 6GB DDR2 800 RAM + 4GB Windows ReadyBoost/ Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT / Samsung SpinPoint 640GB + Seagate FreeAgent 250GB / 750W PSU / Nvidia Nforce 650i SLI / Logitech X-235 Speakers + Plantronics .Audio 370 Gaming Headset / Dell 22' E228WFP / Razer DeathAdder /Windows Vista Home Premium 64-Bit
Airshehan
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What heatsink for 1366 server board? napier Air Cooling 0 July 7, 2009 12:31 PM
Dual Socket 1366 Asus Board Dave510 Press Releases & Tech News 4 April 11, 2009 12:42 AM
Picking the right Card Heff04 New Builds 6 December 28, 2008 11:11 PM
Help picking a GPU xghostz Video Cards 42 October 14, 2008 06:27 PM
Help picking ISP Dar_ell Off Topic 14 August 11, 2008 04:41 PM