Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 30, 2009, 09:43 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,407

My System Specs

Default how many fans can I run off of motherboard cpu fan plugin

Just before I fell asleep last night a thought occurred to me, I was thinking that I shouldn't be running four fans off of the cpu fan plugin. the reason why I have that many is because I have my stinger cpu water block on and my rad is mounted directly to the back of my case with the two exhaust fans pushing air out of my case through the rad and I have two fans on the other side of the rad pulling the air now .
I didn't want to have the fans running at different speeds so I wired them all onto the mother board cpu fan plug in , should I have just plugged them into the power supply directly?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 03:41 PM
Sushi Warrior's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Grimsby, Ontario
Posts: 1,620

My System Specs

Default

I don't think so, from what I've heard even 1 fan is a "stretch". I would try each method and see if it pushes any more air direct from the PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old August 4, 2009, 03:48 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

As long as they're the same model you can splice them together, however only use one RPM wire to the motherboard connector. You don't want to put mixed signals in there. Just splice the + and - leads to each fan and you should be fine. As long as the fans aren't high powered (aka Deltas and San Aces), there shouldn't be a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 5, 2009, 02:17 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,407

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bojangles View Post
As long as they're the same model you can splice them together, however only use one RPM wire to the motherboard connector. You don't want to put mixed signals in there. Just splice the + and - leads to each fan and you should be fine. As long as the fans aren't high powered (aka Deltas and San Aces), there shouldn't be a problem.
All of my fans are yates and they plug into each other . well this is good new to me then I was alittle worried about using to much juice hehe
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Make a 3 Pin fan run without a PSU BobbyLou Troubleshooting 8 July 29, 2009 06:29 AM
Fan controller question + fans ADay2Long Air Cooling 1 May 21, 2009 05:20 PM
[WTB] 120mm fans and fan grills kyle_L Buy/Sell & Trade 4 January 21, 2009 10:10 PM
FS: fan hDD cage w/ 120mm lighted fan, cpu funnel, pentium 1 elninio Buy/Sell & Trade 7 June 20, 2008 01:18 PM
fan question 2x120mm rad 2 or 4 fans? Somed00d Water Cooling 4 July 31, 2007 12:08 AM