Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 07:25 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,599

My System Specs

Question Second processor not detected

Built my new rig and installed Vista Ultimate 64bit with both processors installed. Ram slots for both chips are populated. BIOS recognizes 2 physical chips, multi-threading is enabled. Active processor Cores is All.

System properties mentions 2 processors.

But:

Device Manager shows 8 processors. Should be 16 with HT.
Task Manager shows 8 graphs, not 16.

What am I missing?
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 09:40 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Hey 3.0,

Reading through your manual, just double checking that these are options youre talking about:

Simultaneous Multi-Threading (Available when supported by the CPU)
Set to Enabled to use the Simultaneous Multi-Threading Technology, which will
result in increased CPU performance. The options are Disabled and Enabled.

Active Processor Cores
Set to Enabled to use a processor's Second Core and beyond. (Please refer to
Intel's web site for more information.) The options are All, 1 and 2.

To enabled and all respectively?

on a side note: Woohoo! Another join the multi-socket arena. Now try and break some records with us
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 09:46 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default



Hang on a tick there 3.0. Im not even sure that Vista64 can read beyond 8 cores, in fact, im pretty sure it cant. Try a test install of Server 2008 (or 08R2) 64 bit, then your extra cores shall appear methinks.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 10:01 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

easy, I may be xdrunk but the 5504'w do not hatve hyperthreadong, onlyt thrws e 552-0sa;'s and abvocve havbe hy[erthreacdinfg, so 8threadisn is correct with 5504's duial cpus.

Vista 64bit csnan detec t above 8thresadsa just fine, I knwo fir a fact from my tests on CHASOS 1.O.!!!!
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 10:07 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

If I'm reading these specs correctly the 5504 does Not support hyper-threading; Intel® Xeon® Processor E5504 (4M Cache, 2.00 GHz, 4.80 GT/s Intel® QPI) with SPEC Code(s) SLBF9

Look under the 'Advanced Technologies' header, I think you are unfortunately stuck with 8 cores.

If you click here it lists those Xeons that do support it; Products (Formerly Nehalem-EP)...
__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 10:29 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

Damn Chilly.... I need what you've got!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 10:31 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
Damn Chilly.... I need what you've got!
5504 only haVER 8thrwaeassds man, only 8 threadfs!!~!!!!! not 16 threadys like one migkhtl like you to belive, only 8 thrwaeads not 16!~!!!!!


5520 qnde NAF AND ABOVE HAVE morw than 8threwzds of 16 nthrwads!
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 10:46 PM
Phobia's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,148
Default

haha omg, you can't type, but know exactly what you're talking about.. awsome!
__________________
(whitty saying to be plagiarized at a later date)
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 10:47 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,026

My System Specs

Default

He was actually so clear in another thread I think he cut and pasted the information...
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 10:50 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Perineum View Post
He was actually so clear in another thread I think he cut and pasted the information...
cutsssssss and pashyreswzx ses my asssesx
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IDE Drive not being detected bobaban Troubleshooting 11 June 13, 2009 10:40 PM
Help NANS detected on gpu Alwaysrun HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 February 11, 2009 10:53 AM
p5q: IDE hdd is not detected CTA Troubleshooting 3 September 4, 2008 10:22 PM
Multi-Hop Cycle detected tao5269 Off Topic 1 July 19, 2008 04:26 AM
DISC0 not detected PaxeSalute Storage 1 April 10, 2008 10:07 AM