Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 05:16 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaleF View Post
Dual quad rigs are nice. (:
Quad Quad rigs are nicer.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 05:33 PM
Airshehan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 211
Thumbs down

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post


Hang on a tick there 3.0. Im not even sure that Vista64 can read beyond 8 cores, in fact, im pretty sure it cant. Try a test install of Server 2008 (or 08R2) 64 bit, then your extra cores shall appear methinks.
Yeah, I agree with CMetaphor, I don't even think Vista can support more than 8 cores. Windows Server 2008 would definitely be a good option.
__________________
Dell XPS 630i / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.67GHz / Stock Cooling (Temporary) / 6GB DDR2 800 RAM + 4GB Windows ReadyBoost/ Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT / Samsung SpinPoint 640GB + Seagate FreeAgent 250GB / 750W PSU / Nvidia Nforce 650i SLI / Logitech X-235 Speakers + Plantronics .Audio 370 Gaming Headset / Dell 22' E228WFP / Razer DeathAdder /Windows Vista Home Premium 64-Bit
Airshehan
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 05:34 PM
Airshehan's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Canada
Posts: 211
Thumbs up Oh Yeah!

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Quad Quad rigs are nicer.
Very True!
__________________
Dell XPS 630i / Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300 @ 2.67GHz / Stock Cooling (Temporary) / 6GB DDR2 800 RAM + 4GB Windows ReadyBoost/ Nvidia GeForce 9800 GT / Samsung SpinPoint 640GB + Seagate FreeAgent 250GB / 750W PSU / Nvidia Nforce 650i SLI / Logitech X-235 Speakers + Plantronics .Audio 370 Gaming Headset / Dell 22' E228WFP / Razer DeathAdder /Windows Vista Home Premium 64-Bit
Airshehan
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old July 25, 2009, 09:51 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airshehan View Post
Yeah, I agree with CMetaphor, I don't even think Vista can support more than 8 cores. Windows Server 2008 would definitely be a good option.
How about you listen to and read the posts of the guy who actually owns and runs a Dual Quad CPU, 8 core, 16 thread machine?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilly View Post
The limitation is only 2 physical cpus, no limitation on threads/cores on Vista Business and Vista Ultimate, Vista 64 Ultimate and Windows 7 64 Ultimate works just fine with all 16 threads on Chaos just fine.
http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...aos-1-0-a.html

Me and CMetaphor helped start the Dual/Quad/Multi CPU trend that seems to have recently swept HWC by storm. I'd glad to see more and more people coming into the fold(even if for the wrong reasons in some cases).

Vista/Seven Business/Professional/Ultimate support a maximum of two physical CPU's, but an unlimited amount of cores/threads.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by Microsoft
While all editions of Windows Vista can support multiple core CPUs, only Windows Vista Business, Ultimate, and Enterprise can support dual processors.
Windows Vista Ultimate: System Requirements
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2009, 12:32 PM
Full Speed's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mount Pearl, Newfoundland
Posts: 808

My System Specs

Default

Chilly and CMetaphor, what do you guys do with your rigs? They're pretty sick.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2009, 08:09 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 252

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Airshehan View Post
Yeah, I agree with CMetaphor, I don't even think Vista can support more than 8 cores. Windows Server 2008 would definitely be a good option.
I've got dual E5520s, and Vista didn't seem to mind that there were 8 physical cores and 8 logical cores, total of 16 cores. As long as you have business or above, it supports two physical processors. As for actual support in terms of number of cores, I'd assume it's higher than 32, maybe 64-128 or so, but I can't find much in the way of solid information.
Heck, XP Pro was good up to 32 cores, as long as they were only on two physical processors.

Easy fix, use Linux.
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old July 27, 2009, 08:30 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chilly View Post
Me and CMetaphor helped start the Dual/Quad/Multi CPU trend that seems to have recently swept HWC by storm. I'd glad to see more and more people coming into the fold(even if for the wrong reasons in some cases).

Vista/Seven Business/Professional/Ultimate support a maximum of two physical CPU's, but an unlimited amount of cores/threads.
In other words, only suckers like me with 4 sockets have to deal with any server OS.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Full Speed
Chilly and CMetaphor, what do you guys do with your rigs? They're pretty sick.
First of all, theyre not gaming systems. 90% of games still rely on 4 or less threads and get most of their performance from clockspeed and architecture. That being said, and speaking only for myself (since I dont know exactly when Chilly uses his for), I can do pretty much anything I want to... all at once. I'll render something or run photoshop on 4 cores, some coding on another couple, and transcode (my personal fav) my older DivXs to better quality via PS3 media server (scales up to 8 threads). Still.... going to my extreme is a little on the silly side, i was just fortunate to get an excellent deal. For most people a single i7/Phenom II x4 should be enough, just OC them a little.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 06:05 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 252

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
In other words, only suckers like me with 4 sockets have to deal with any server OS.
No, pretty much any 64b Linux should be able to do it fine, even just the desktop versions.
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 06:14 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,991

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DaleF View Post
No, pretty much any 64b Linux should be able to do it fine, even just the desktop versions.
Okay then... let me correct myself:

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor
In other words, only suckers like me with 4 sockets have to deal with Windows server OS' to be useful.


__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old July 28, 2009, 06:27 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,471
Default

Windows XP x64 should work too since its based of a server kernel.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
IDE Drive not being detected bobaban Troubleshooting 11 June 13, 2009 10:40 PM
Help NANS detected on gpu Alwaysrun HardwareCanucks F@H Team 9 February 11, 2009 10:53 AM
p5q: IDE hdd is not detected CTA Troubleshooting 3 September 4, 2008 10:22 PM
Multi-Hop Cycle detected tao5269 Off Topic 1 July 19, 2008 04:26 AM
DISC0 not detected PaxeSalute Storage 1 April 10, 2008 10:07 AM