Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 10:22 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario Canada
Posts: 20
Default AMD 9950 BE vs X2 6400+

The most up to date processor my motherboard supports is a AMD 9950, would it be an improvement gaming wise over my X2 6400+ ?

X2 6400+: 9950

3.2 GHz per core 2.6 GHz per core
2x 1MB L2 cache 4x 512KB L2 cache
No L3 cache 4x 512KB L3 cache

I am worried that the 600 MHz drop in speed will be too much. I know most of you will say to wait and build an AM3 setup (no Intel for me), and that is in the plans, but I won't have that much money for possibly 1 year depending on how hours at work goes (I would want a whole new rig if I get a new board and what not). The single processor is doable within 2 months and would get the most out of my current setup if the 9950 is better than the X2 6400+.

So how about it, would you take a 9950 over a X2 6400+ ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 10:39 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario Canada
Posts: 20
Default

This post has my updated sig with my other parts.
__________________
Asus M2N-E|AMD Athlon64 X2 6400+|Arctic Cooling Freezer64 Pro|2x OCZ2P8002GK|BFG GeForce GTX 260 OC|Seagate Barracuda ST31000340AS|Tagan TG700-U88 BZ|Antec 900|Windows Vista Business 64-Bit SP2/Windows XP Pro SP3|Samsung SyncMaster 245B|Razer Lachesis|Logitech G15
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 11:37 AM
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 1,361

My System Specs

Default

My advice to u would be to wait as I don't think you'd gain enough from doing such a change. It always depends on what you do, but even then unless u run antivirus for fun(that's where there is the most significant difference), then its not worth it IMHO.

Check this comparison to make yourself an idea.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 12:20 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario Canada
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kilauea View Post
My advice to u would be to wait as I don't think you'd gain enough from doing such a change. It always depends on what you do, but even then unless u run antivirus for fun(that's where there is the most significant difference), then its not worth it IMHO.

Check this comparison to make yourself an idea.
While I don't have as much faith in Tom's as I used to, that comparison doesn't really make me want the 9950. I'd be better off spending the $180 the CPU would cost me on a sound card (Auzentech Prelude) or on 8GB of RAM to replace my 4GB. Probably the sound card. I will decide down the road, maybe I will just bank it towards a new rig.
__________________
Asus M2N-E|AMD Athlon64 X2 6400+|Arctic Cooling Freezer64 Pro|2x OCZ2P8002GK|BFG GeForce GTX 260 OC|Seagate Barracuda ST31000340AS|Tagan TG700-U88 BZ|Antec 900|Windows Vista Business 64-Bit SP2/Windows XP Pro SP3|Samsung SyncMaster 245B|Razer Lachesis|Logitech G15
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 12:44 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

you might as well get one of those 790 chipset Mobos from Gigabyte. (more future proof :)
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 01:15 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is online now
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

The only thing I'd upgrade to, is a Phenom II of sorts. Anything else is just pointless.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 02:42 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton,Alberta
Posts: 104
Default

For an AM2 gaming rig its not worth it, save your money.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 02:46 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

If you don't plan on getting a new rig for at least another year then I think you should DEFINATELY get a 9950! It's newer arcitechture that is faster clock for clock over an Athlon, and it will also overclock to 3.2ghz easily just by increasing the CPU's vcore and bumping up the multiplier. Remember, a 9950 is a Black Edition CPU with an unlocked multiplier. Besides all that.... a quad core in your present rig will make it worth a bit more when you go to sell it off. Also, thinking about 4gb's of RAM isn't a great idea right now in my opinion.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 03:13 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

but i don't think his M2N E will OC much tho...
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 24, 2009, 04:06 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Hamilton, Ontario Canada
Posts: 20
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jcmaz View Post
but i don't think his M2N E will OC much tho...
I don't think so on most CPUs. The maximum RAM voltage I can do is a puny 1.9V to give you an idea on it's BIOS options, but on a BE processor with only increasing the multiplier I might be able to do a bit. I don't know how far I can put the VCore up but I know I can put it up at least a little.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Killswitch View Post
If you don't plan on getting a new rig for at least another year then I think you should DEFINATELY get a 9950! It's newer arcitechture that is faster clock for clock over an Athlon, and it will also overclock to 3.2ghz easily just by increasing the CPU's vcore and bumping up the multiplier. Remember, a 9950 is a Black Edition CPU with an unlocked multiplier. Besides all that.... a quad core in your present rig will make it worth a bit more when you go to sell it off. Also, thinking about 4gb's of RAM isn't a great idea right now in my opinion.
I have 4GB of RAM right now, I would be going to 8GB if I were to put more in. I don't sell my PCs too often, I like to have spare PCs and parts.

These are all things to think about I guess. It also hit me that if I wasn't satisfied with the performance of the 9950, I do have another PC with an AM2 board that only has a X2 5200+ in it that could use a new CPU. Worst case I could put the 9950 in there. I guess I will wait and see where I am when I have the $180. If work is going well and I think I can actually build soon I will hold off for that. There is a coworker leaving soon for another job, if I can pick up hours from that it would help a ton.
__________________
Asus M2N-E|AMD Athlon64 X2 6400+|Arctic Cooling Freezer64 Pro|2x OCZ2P8002GK|BFG GeForce GTX 260 OC|Seagate Barracuda ST31000340AS|Tagan TG700-U88 BZ|Antec 900|Windows Vista Business 64-Bit SP2/Windows XP Pro SP3|Samsung SyncMaster 245B|Razer Lachesis|Logitech G15
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
amd 9950 @3 gig nasrott Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 10 November 21, 2008 03:25 PM
The New Amd 9950 thats right boyz! Dashock Rumor Mill 10 July 4, 2008 06:53 AM
AMD Phenom X4 9350e & 9950 Black Edition Review MAC Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 June 30, 2008 10:48 PM
Overclocking AMD 6400+ temps low351 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 7 March 16, 2008 09:03 PM
Amd 6400+ Be Wamphyri CPU's and Motherboards 4 February 5, 2008 08:45 AM