Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2009, 09:22 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,381

My System Specs

Default I think my motherboard is screwed how can I tell if that what is my problem?

after leak testing for 24hrs I went to fireup my pc and it was a no go all the cables where connected and the psu works , I did get it working for a little while ..well sort of working I unplugged and pluged in the atx cable ( I think that is what it is called ) and the fans spun for a split second so I tried the power button and my pc fired up.
but when the it was booting and it was supposed to be at the desktop the screen was blank, I thought that it was my ram settings againso I checked , they were set to auto so I reset them to where they were supposed to be set and started my PC up again but the same thing happened, I I did a hard shutdown and now my pc would boot at all.
this is why I am thinking that it might be the Mother board
is thre anyway to check ?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2009, 08:19 AM
Cranky's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Windsor Ontario
Posts: 149
Default

What power supply are you using? Water pumps draw a lot of power.
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe / Intel Core2Quad Q9550@8x425@3400mhz(1.225v) / Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro / 4Gigs DDR2 1066mhz(5-5-5-15) Corsair Dominator / Diamond HD4870x2 / Asus Xonar / WD Raptor 74gb / Hitachi 160GB / Antec Quattro 850w / Logitech Z-680 5.1 / Dell Ultrasharp 24" / 2 LG Optical Drives / Vista Ultimate 32bit / A tower that's been drilled, cut, and bent to fit all of my fans
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2009, 08:29 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,381

My System Specs

Default

750 watt coolermaster
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2009, 08:42 AM
Cranky's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Windsor Ontario
Posts: 149
Default

I'm looking up your power requirements. So are you using 4gigs of ram or 8gigs? Your sig indicates that you are using two different types of ram. What are you HDD's? Optical drives? what Water pump? How many fans and sizes in total? etc. When you added your water system was this a fresh install or an existing setup, and if so is your CPU overclocked?
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe / Intel Core2Quad Q9550@8x425@3400mhz(1.225v) / Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro / 4Gigs DDR2 1066mhz(5-5-5-15) Corsair Dominator / Diamond HD4870x2 / Asus Xonar / WD Raptor 74gb / Hitachi 160GB / Antec Quattro 850w / Logitech Z-680 5.1 / Dell Ultrasharp 24" / 2 LG Optical Drives / Vista Ultimate 32bit / A tower that's been drilled, cut, and bent to fit all of my fans

Last edited by Cranky; July 13, 2009 at 08:59 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 15, 2009, 08:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
Default

power maybe an issue. also if you do indeed have the OCZ and another brand of ram. please remove the OCZ from your setup first.

if at all possible, have the setup run "outside" of case. sometimes an extra standoff is added, part of the case is touching the underside of the mobo.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 20, 2009, 07:15 AM
Cranky's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Windsor Ontario
Posts: 149
Default

This guy obviously doesn't give a crap about any of our responses. Delete this post.
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe / Intel Core2Quad Q9550@8x425@3400mhz(1.225v) / Arctic Cooling Freezer 7 Pro / 4Gigs DDR2 1066mhz(5-5-5-15) Corsair Dominator / Diamond HD4870x2 / Asus Xonar / WD Raptor 74gb / Hitachi 160GB / Antec Quattro 850w / Logitech Z-680 5.1 / Dell Ultrasharp 24" / 2 LG Optical Drives / Vista Ultimate 32bit / A tower that's been drilled, cut, and bent to fit all of my fans
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My keyboard is screwed!!! jcmaz Off Topic 9 June 30, 2009 07:56 PM
Time screwed? Lpfan4ever Suggestions & Feedback 5 March 8, 2009 10:03 PM
Totally Screwed Up !! Help no display Malam Troubleshooting 14 December 6, 2008 11:15 AM
Buildind the comp - Motherboard problem!? CactusJoe New Builds 19 November 20, 2008 04:51 PM
SoundMAX Audio screwed up Scart Audio 7 August 8, 2008 08:58 AM