Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2009, 02:11 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default Upgrade Laptop CPU???

Hi,

My current laptop is based on the i945 chipset (Socket M) with the T5300 CPU.

What performance increase would there be if i upgraded to a T7600? Ie: Source games.

I have the X2300 Mobility w/ 128mb dedicated ram.
I think its equivilent to these graphics cards.

4 Ti 4600, 4 Ti 4800, FX 5700 Ultra, 6200, 8300, 8400 GS 9600 PRO, Mobility 9700 (128-bit), 9800 LE, X600 PRO, Mobility X600, Mobility X1300, Xpress 1250, Mobility HD 2300

Info:
T5300: 1.73Ghz w/ 2mb cache
T7600: 2.33ghz w/ 4mb cache
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2009, 02:53 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

That's a nice CPU upgrade but not sure what it's going to do for CSS? If you want to see real improvement on games it's the GPU that matters, sadly not so upgradeable on laptops. :\

How much is a T7600? I might just recommend you save your pennies and buy a used laptop with a better GPU and specs all around.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2009, 02:55 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

200 on ebay and ~300 brand new

but i was also looking at the ViDock2
ViDock 2: High Performance Dual Display Notebook Expansion

Do you think it'll work?
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2009, 03:10 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Well as I said, if you really want better game performance, you can probably find a better used laptop. Something for about $500 would get you a C2D and 8400M GS (~10-20FPS improvement on FEAR or Doom 3 at 800x600) from the x2300.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2009, 04:35 PM
Oversized Rooster's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 609

My System Specs

Default

I am quite certain that a CPU upgrade will not help your gaming. You should look into a new or different laptop with a more recent integrated video solution or better yet a discrete video card.
__________________
Main: Intel 2600K @ 4.8GHz | Gigabyte P67A-UD7-B3 | 16GB Corsair DDR3-2000 | 2 x 240GB Corsair Force 3 in RAID1 | 2 x 4TB Hitachi 7K4000 | 3 x 2TB WD Caviar Black | Antec 1200 | Seasonic XP-860 Platinum | 2GB GTX 670 | 2 x 27" Asus VE278Q | Asus Essence ST | Win7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 7, 2009, 08:11 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,916

My System Specs

Default

To give you an idea, my T8100 and Intel X3100 graphics can play HL2 at lowest of low settings but at 1280x800. However CSS doesn't fair nearly as well, it's playable but lags out from time to time making it rather difficult to play. L4D isn't playable at all though.

As others have said though, if you want to play things decently, you need to get a laptop with better graphics.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2009, 06:24 PM
DrPepper's Avatar
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Michigan
Posts: 107

My System Specs

Default

theres this sale on a refurb gateway on tigerdirect, T8400 DDR3 and a 9800GT for 900 bucks, as for your topic what type of CPU games are you using this for? if you use this for CS:S, is it because the get tired of waiting for maps to load?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2009, 06:30 PM
martin_metal_88's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Quebec City
Posts: 4,175

My System Specs

Default

A CPU upgrade will not really help, try to go in bios and adress more memory to the GPU. This is the most you can do. And about your thing Vidock2, that`s bullshit, Have you really see an external video card do well, no cause of USB interface. for photo or thing like that it could be cool but not for gaming.

Ask for more
__________________
Ask for more

Martin_metal_88
Colenzo : See system spec!

Odysseus : I7 860 @ 3.6Ghz || GA P55-UD5 || G.skill Ripjaws F3-16000 2000Mhz 2X2GB || Coolermaster ATCS 840 || Silverstone Strider plus 850W || WD 640 black - WD 1TB green - Samsung F3 2TB || MSI 5670 1GB Cyclone ||Coolermaster Hyper 212 + ||

Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2009, 06:51 PM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

it doesn't use USB interface. It uses ExpressDock 1.0 which is the equivilent to PCI E X1
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old July 13, 2009, 07:29 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Actually guys, the CPU helps A LOT in Source based games, especially the older games like CSS, DODS, and HL2. I noticed a subtantial increase in fps when I when from my P4 Prescott to my C2D E6600. Source Engine physics take a huge toll on the CPU, so in this case it would benefit in this case, with both the higher clock speed and cache. Newer games like TF2 and L4D are the games that really up the ante on GPU power.

Overall though your laptop is seriously lacking in the GPU area as well so I would really upgrade to a new laptop when the funds become more available.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU upgrade micul New Builds 4 July 7, 2009 07:13 PM
Best CPU upgrade??? Delavan New Builds 11 April 2, 2009 07:41 PM
upgrade cpu / memmory?? ultra2 New Builds 12 April 1, 2009 10:59 AM
Cpu, Gpu or what? upgrade? phil3_66666 CPU's and Motherboards 12 March 14, 2009 05:54 PM
Inspiron 1501 Cpu upgrade wickedninjalo CPU's and Motherboards 3 October 17, 2008 09:28 PM