Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2009, 09:07 AM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 108

My System Specs

Default

You going to run sli/crossfire or just a single vid card? If your just using a single card the performance differences are basically nil,so i'd say go with the amd chip.But if you run multi gpus the i7 starts to flex its muscle,and the ability to run sli or crossfire on most x58 motherboards is a big plus for i7 in my books.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2009, 10:41 AM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Soultribunal View Post
I find comparing these two particular chips is really a moot point.

The i7 Is a better performing chip all around.
However putting a decent AMD system together will be cheaper.
Seeing as how a very good Gigabyte AM3 board can be had for around 125 or so.

It all depends on how much you want to spend.

ST
Right now I have the AMD Phenom 9950 BE, 8GB PC6400 G.Skill RAM, and a BioStar TA790GX Mobo. Im selling these to a friend, for part of his build, cause he just wants a quick computer, etc. etc. etc. So with that money + $250 or so, Ill upgrade.

$750 - $850 budget

So ya, go from there.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ogdin View Post
You going to run sli/crossfire or just a single vid card? If your just using a single card the performance differences are basically nil,so i'd say go with the amd chip.But if you run multi gpus the i7 starts to flex its muscle,and the ability to run sli or crossfire on most x58 motherboards is a big plus for i7 in my books.
Right now, Im using a single 4870x2, I was thinking of selling that off, and buying two 275's but I have no idea on that yet, and that probably wont happen.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2009, 10:49 AM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

In short. Im looking for the best bang-for-my-buck gaming based/homework/internet mobo, processor, and RAM, as well as overclocking potential. With the $750 - $850 I'll be spening, I want the best for that range. So by all means, If I can get better AM3 based parts for 750 - 850, Ill go by there, or vise-versa
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2009, 12:00 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Infonec Computers - Computer parts Canada, PC Components, laptop computers, motherboards, processors, CPUs and much more : GIGABYTE GA-MA790XT-UD4P AM3 4DDR3 2PCI/3PCI-E X1/2PCI-EX16

Infonec Computers - Computer parts Canada, PC Components, laptop computers, motherboards, processors, CPUs and much more : AMD Phenom II X4 955 Deneb 3.2GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor


Then whatever RAM you want DDR3 (or there is a Gigabyte board cheaper with DDR2).

That should put you well within budget, I'm assuming you have the VC/PSU etc etc..


ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2009, 01:18 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 589
Default

I doubt it but is there an AM3 board that does SLI?
__________________
http://www.thecomputermadesimple.com | The computer world in plain English!
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2009, 01:30 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

Yes, I have everything else. I was thinking, could I make an intel build, better than the AM3 one you just gave me.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2009, 06:38 PM
Top Prospect
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 108

My System Specs

Default

For the same price,no.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2009, 06:44 PM
Soultribunal's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 8,066

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by ADay2Long View Post
I doubt it but is there an AM3 board that does SLI?
I got Twin Nvidia Cards in my AMD build.


ST
__________________




"We know not why he calls for us, only that when he does we must answer" - DMP 2009

"Dear Iceberg, I am sorry to hear about global warming. Karma is a bitch. Signed - Titanic"

I would rather believe and find god doesn't exist than to not believe and find that he does.

www.realhardwarereviews.com
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2009, 06:53 PM
ebdoradz's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Rouyn-Noranda, QC
Posts: 754
Default

change my main rig hardware to MA790XT-Ud4P + PII x3 720BE + 4830 with 2x 1gb ddr3 and it cost me 400$ and its perform realy good,

plus i have unlock my x3 to x4 and bump it to 3ghz
__________________
Gigabyte GA-MA790XT-UD4P / AMD Phenom II x3 720BE @ x4/ Crucial Ballistic DDR3 / Sapphire 4830 512mb / Corsair 620W PSU / 2*80GB Seagate

DFI LP nF4 Ultra-D / AMD Opteron 165 @ 2.7Ghz/ 2*1GB OCZ Gold GX XTC / Sapphire X1950XT / Fortron 450W PSU / 2*Maxtor 80Gb


Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 6, 2009, 08:37 PM
AmuseMe's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Lloydminster & Saskatoon
Posts: 1,587
Default

Is the 955 the way for me to go than? At my budget.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
AMD Phenom II X4 955 Liquid Helium (LHe) Overclocking Event MAC Reviews & Articles from the Web 12 July 14, 2009 05:19 AM
AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE. Good contender to i7? bojangles CPU's and Motherboards 40 June 28, 2009 01:16 PM
NCIX has the Phenom II 945 and 955 up snoosebum CPU's and Motherboards 5 April 22, 2009 11:16 AM