Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 28, 2009, 05:55 PM
Top Prospect

My System Specs

Default Multiple processors question

Sorry if this is extremely obvious but I'm a noob LOL. If I have a dual core processor at 2.2 Ghz does that mean each processor is 2.2 Ghz making it overall 4.4Ghz? And also in gaming is a dual core a lot better than a single?
Old June 28, 2009, 06:03 PM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs

No, you don't add the speeds. Yo have a 2.2GHz CPU capable of running 2 threads at once.

single < dual < quad < whateverelseexistsaboveaquad
Old June 28, 2009, 07:13 PM
Hall Of Fame

My System Specs

Actually - to answer your question, YES, a dual core is just that, two processors - each core is running at 2.2Ghz - however, it does not necessarily mean you will get the equivalent of 4.4Ghz at all times - however an application that is optimized to use multi cores, like a rendering app that uses 2 cores at 100%, yeah I guess you can say you get nearly double the speed as a single 2.2Ghz - I've experienced it with a video rendering program myself, otherwise your tasks are balanced across the 2 cores. (example 50% usage on one core and 50% usage on the next).
Old June 28, 2009, 08:05 PM
F@H

My System Specs

Quote:
Originally Posted by DarKStar View Post
Actually - to answer your question, YES, a dual core is just that, two processors - each core is running at 2.2Ghz - however, it does not necessarily mean you will get the equivalent of 4.4Ghz at all times - however an application that is optimized to use multi cores, like a rendering app that uses 2 cores at 100%, yeah I guess you can say you get nearly double the speed as a single 2.2Ghz - I've experienced it with a video rendering program myself, otherwise your tasks are balanced across the 2 cores. (example 50% usage on one core and 50% usage on the next).