Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 07:35 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 102
Default Q6600 or.... Phenom II 940?

Im planning a new build for my dad for fathers day... hes a professional photographer and videographer so he's gona probably need 4 cores running @ near 4.0 ghz...

So here i sit uselessly trying to decide whether to go with a Q6600 or a Phenom II 940...

From what i see, here are my two options.. i already have a PSU, ram and an 8800 GTS waiting to be installed:

The Intel Route:
CPU: Q6600... can pick one up for ~$150
Mobo: some P45 chipset... can pick one up for ~$120

The AMD Route:
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940... can pick one up for ~$220
Mobo: Some 780g/a chipset... can pick one up for ~$90

The AMD Route is more expensive (wow.. how did that happen lol), but the difference doesnt really matter that much to me. I'm just wondering which one would probably give me better performance... keep in mind i will be AGRESSIVELY overclocking regardless of which route i decide to take. With both processors, i know i can probably hit ~3.8 to 4.0 ghz...(im buying a used q6600 thats hit 4.0 rock stable on air before) but which one would out-perform the other?
__________________
Primary System:
Pocketbike i7 CaseMod : Intel Core i7 920 @ 4.41 ghz// TRUE120//Asus P6T//eVga nVidia 9800 GTX+//6gb DDR3-1800 OCZ Reapers//Corsair TX750//500gb WD HDD//1TB Samsung HDD
http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...-i7-build.html

Secondary System:
Phenom II 940 @ 3.8ghz//ASUS M4A78-E ATX 790GX//XFX 8800 GTS//OCZ 700W//ThermalTake Soprano RS Modded//8gb OCZ SLI edition DDR2-800//1TB WD Green.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 07:57 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,106

My System Specs

Default

its no brainer, go for the AMD PII 940. It has a higher chance of hitting 4ghz compared to the Q6600. But then again you need a better motherboard to overclock the AMD cpu
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 09:51 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 102
Default

O_o

what chipset would you recommend i use to OC the AMD?
__________________
Primary System:
Pocketbike i7 CaseMod : Intel Core i7 920 @ 4.41 ghz// TRUE120//Asus P6T//eVga nVidia 9800 GTX+//6gb DDR3-1800 OCZ Reapers//Corsair TX750//500gb WD HDD//1TB Samsung HDD
http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...-i7-build.html

Secondary System:
Phenom II 940 @ 3.8ghz//ASUS M4A78-E ATX 790GX//XFX 8800 GTS//OCZ 700W//ThermalTake Soprano RS Modded//8gb OCZ SLI edition DDR2-800//1TB WD Green.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 10:40 PM
rapmaster's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Brossard, QC
Posts: 1,016

My System Specs

Default

the 790X-UD4P is one of the best budget board for Phenom II, if you want to spend less, than get the 770-UD3.
__________________
Quando omni flunkus moritati
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 05:01 AM
Prof. Dr. Silver's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 1,187
Default

Go for this one.... a great improvement on the Q6600.... = Q9550 @ $ 250,-

Enjoy!
__________________
Hardcore Folding at it's BEST! HWC - TPU.... There can be only one team in front! TPU, can you smell our *sses already?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 13, 2009, 08:58 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

u could use the AMD 720BE (to save $$$) and try to unlock it w/ a mobo that is capable of doing so. Then OC the crap out of it.
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2009, 02:48 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof. Dr. Silver View Post
Go for this one.... a great improvement on the Q6600.... = Q9550 @ $ 250,-

Enjoy!

I second this. The Q9550 smokes any phenom II or the Q6600 (I have a Q9550 and Q6600). An Asrocks P43 board would be a solid choice, if you're willing to look at other alternatives, they are around $100

Cheers,
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2009, 05:34 AM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,490

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof. Dr. Silver View Post
Go for this one.... a great improvement on the Q6600.... = Q9550 @ $ 250,-

Enjoy!
Or...buy my Q6600 and let me pick up a Q9550
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old June 16, 2009, 05:38 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CookieMonster8 View Post
I second this. The Q9550 smokes any phenom II or the Q6600 (I have a Q9550 and Q6600). An Asrocks P43 board would be a solid choice, if you're willing to look at other alternatives, they are around $100

Cheers,
"Smokes" is an exaggeration, unless you can find a benchmark where it clearly beats the PhII in every category. True, the Q9550 is still faster, but not by that much, and can be more difficult to OC, depending on which stepping you get.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old June 17, 2009, 05:04 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
"Smokes" is an exaggeration, unless you can find a benchmark where it clearly beats the PhII in every category. True, the Q9550 is still faster, but not by that much, and can be more difficult to OC, depending on which stepping you get.
Correction, it "surpasses" a Phenom 2 940

PassMark CPU Benchmarks - Common CPU'sPassMark CPU Benchmarks - Common CPU's
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Phenom 9850 or Phenom II 940 attonbitusira Buy/Sell & Trade 4 May 31, 2009 02:18 PM
[FS] Phenom II 940 chibi_man Buy/Sell & Trade 2 May 8, 2009 02:07 PM
What temps to watch out for on a Phenom II X4 940? Yamcha Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 0 March 17, 2009 05:54 PM
Phenom ii 940 temps JerryZ CPU's and Motherboards 2 January 25, 2009 06:31 PM