Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2007, 06:51 PM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 453

My System Specs

Default Couple questions

I friend wants to speed up a shuttle nf2 400(SN-45v2), has onboard graphics and 512 of ram lol, was thinking of adding vista to it, 9600 pro, and 2gb usb mem stick think that would make the system faster using this ram stick with readdyboost and a 9600 pro instead of the onboard gpu? Or would I be waisting my time and should maybe go with the vid and 2 gig of ddr ram in it.

Basically asking if the 2gb of usb mem for $30 dollars would work with the reasyboost feature on vista? compared to a $100 for 2 gigs of ddr400. And waist the 2 x 256 as there is only 2 ram slots on this system.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2007, 06:59 PM
Misoprostol
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default

I don't think 512MB and a readyboost drive would be enough... You're gonna be far better off with real memory.

Honestly I don't know if I'd even run Vista on that machine though...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2007, 07:27 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,950

My System Specs

Default

Ready boost sucks. It can slow down your system. If your friend wants vista for some reason then get at least 1gig of ram but two gigs would be better. Why not just buy a new system though for $300 TigerDirect.ca
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2007, 07:53 PM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 453

My System Specs

Default

getting him that one for a office system ;), this is just a kitchen machine, think will just throw a vid in it and a gig of real ram, loss the 2 x 512's in there now.Going to try vista for the hell of it too see if it will work, notice there is no driver's in platform for nf-1/2 on the nvidia site. Will let ya's know how it goes.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 12, 2007, 03:46 AM
nasrott's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Newmarket, Ont.
Posts: 453

My System Specs

Default

waist of time trying vista on the shuttle its not playing nice, even hates my 1 gig of xms corsair mem from my net machine. XP it is then, like before..
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How to de-couple dual boot Malam O/S's, Drivers & General Software 7 February 3, 2008 10:53 AM
I have a couple of questions about Antec Neopower 650W Power Supply Shadowmeph Power Supplies 5 January 30, 2008 05:28 PM
RivaTuner,couple of quick questions.....Hardware Monitoring Canadianguy Video Cards 2 December 8, 2007 08:00 PM
Some questions about F@H qwerty HardwareCanucks F@H Team 4 October 16, 2007 07:45 PM
Overclockers.com knocks Penryn down a couple of notches Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 April 2, 2007 11:16 AM