Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2009, 09:07 AM
SKYMTL's Avatar
HardwareCanuck Review Editor
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 11,662
Default

I believe the type of program you are looking for is called an Affinity Mask Tool.

As far as I know however, processor affinity is designed to be dynamic from one program to the next and messing with that can cause issues with certain applications.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2009, 09:40 AM
El_Fiendo's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 579
Default

It's a trade off, what I'd do with his system is assign cores 0-13 and leave the last 2 cores as open for any program or task that cropped up unexpectedly. This way he's optimized 14 cores and there are 2 leftover to run cleanup of miscellaneous. Oh and, CMetaphor your solution and mine are strikingly similar, only yours is via program and mine is editing shortcut / run command lines.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old June 8, 2009, 09:55 PM
Banned
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,047
Default

Any update CM?
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 05:21 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,999

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rommel View Post
Any update CM?
Didn't have time to last night. Was busy trying to "blend" something (different thread, lol). But I'll try when I get a chance, unfortunately I'm going to be fairly busy during the evenings for the rest of this week so It may have to wait a bit, hehe. I'll let you know
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old June 9, 2009, 07:09 AM
lcdguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: An undisclosed location
Posts: 2,048
Default

not sure if you can use this for your useage but i use this to force older applications to only run on 1 core.

Robpol86.com - ImageCFG.exe
__________________
and now for something completely different

Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2010, 09:07 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

Sorry for the Necro of this but does this actually work ?
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2010, 09:48 AM
stoanee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Lacombe Alberta
Posts: 3,250

My System Specs

Default

Process Lasso, the Windows process optimizer!

Try this?
__________________
heatware
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2010, 10:05 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,532

My System Specs

Default

Process lasso worked fine for me as well. The initial issue however was due to more than the traditional 8 cores on multi-cpu motherboards, and apparently the freely available affinity programs don't support more than 8 physical cores.

Not sure if the question was related to a multi-cpu setup or not..........
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2010, 10:05 AM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,367

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by stoanee View Post
I totally forgot about this Program now I just need to remember how to use it lol
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old July 21, 2010, 11:11 AM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Montreal, QC
Posts: 5,415

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
Process lasso worked fine for me as well. The initial issue however was due to more than the traditional 8 cores on multi-cpu motherboards, and apparently the freely available affinity programs don't support more than 8 physical cores.

Not sure if the question was related to a multi-cpu setup or not..........
Bill2's Process Manager supports up to 32 threads.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CLI+GPU Affinity Setter geokilla HardwareCanucks F@H Team 0 September 12, 2008 08:10 PM
100$ Processor... Copper94 CPU's and Motherboards 18 August 7, 2008 05:31 PM
Intel Affinity Patch? J2TheROC CPU's and Motherboards 4 May 23, 2008 07:15 PM
Advice on processor Cpt Martha CPU's and Motherboards 8 May 20, 2008 10:05 AM
Setting Core Affinity Cptn Vortex HardwareCanucks F@H Team 6 January 7, 2008 09:42 PM