Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 07:33 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,457

My System Specs

Default More FPS by changing Processor

If i change my processor from the amd 5200+ 2.7 ghz to a 720 BE (or any other 95W PII), how much of a difference in FPS will it get?

the games that i play are

Far Cry 2
and many newer games

System specs are below

“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 07:43 AM
"Quote This..."
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Hell
Posts: 3,857

You'll gain some, but not much i'm afraid. The extra core will help in grid and FC2 but you're only jumping 100mhz in clock, a better chip though.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 07:50 AM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,068

My System Specs


I wouldn't expect a dramatic increase in FPS I think alot of it depends on whether a game is more cpu dependent or gpu dependent (most likely). That being said any upgrade based on your specs you're likely to see improvements in all areas. In my experience upgrading my GPU was more beneficial than upgrading my CPU despite it being heavily bottlenecked.

Its also important to remember that a lot of performance most of us get out our systems is because we are all pretty highly overclocked.


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 08:57 AM
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sunshine coast, BC
Posts: 514

If u'r going to a x3 720BE (overclocking is easy 3.5ghz) even though high end fps may not jump dramatically minimum end fps may increase and u'd be ready for an eventual gpu upgrade down the line, the x2 5200 won't do much good over a gts250 card. The 9600gt is the biggest drag on the game side.
Gaming FX 8350 / Tuniq Tower 120/ R9 280X / G Skill 12800CL9D 4x4GBXL/ S12D 850w/ GA 990FXA-UD3 /WD640AALS Black, WD1TB FALS x1, / Dell IPS 1920x1080/ Win 10 64
Daily Use x4 965BE 3.8GHZ/GA-790x/R7 265 1GB that doesn't like the 790x-UD4 mobo at all/EA750w/8GB ram/Win 10 64 and a whole bunch o hdds
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old June 4, 2009, 11:21 AM
kiwik's Avatar
Top Prospect
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Quebec city
Posts: 106

My System Specs


That M2A-VM will not support Phenom II CPUs.

ASUSTeK Computer Inc.-Support-

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 09:47 PM
aviduser's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Vancouver Island
Posts: 383

personally I'd change out the vid card before the cpu, unless your gaming at fairly low resolutions.
I5 4670K 4.4ghz - Gtx 780 Amp - 2x4 Corsair Vengeance - MSI z87-g43 - Tx 850w - Asus pbq278q
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CL changing to 4.0? somecanadianguy RAM 4 April 20, 2009 04:18 PM
changing cooling gingerbee Water Cooling 2 April 17, 2009 09:45 PM
Multyplyer keeps changing..... WTF frosty Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 16 January 31, 2009 08:26 AM
The Times they are a changing. KnSKranky New Builds 0 September 3, 2008 05:29 AM
changing psu? djnocide Power Supplies 4 December 12, 2007 07:07 PM