Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2007, 06:30 PM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default need sum geeks here lol

wats better :
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor 5200+ Socket AM2 (89W)
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor 5000+ Socket AM2 (65W)
AMD Athlon 64 X2 Dual-Core Processor 5600+ Socket AM2 Retail
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2007, 06:32 PM
Wankerfx's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 583
Default

I'd get a 5000+, it has the lowest TDP (greatest overclocking success) and can reach 3.2ghz on air.
__________________
[ER]
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2007, 07:21 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Agreed.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2007, 09:33 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Calgary
Posts: 493
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wankerfx View Post
I'd get a 5000+, it has the lowest TDP (greatest overclocking success) and can reach 3.2ghz on air.
It has the lowest TDP because it has the lowest clockspeed and voltage, with equal voltage and clocks, the TDP is going to be the same for all those chips.

If overclocking, get the slowest one with a multiplier that will work for you. Consider getting one with more L2 cache. (either the 5200+ or 5600+) You can increase clockspeed, but you can't increase L2 cache.

If not overclocking, get the fastest one you feel like paying for.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old July 2, 2007, 09:53 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 5,002

My System Specs

Default

Maybe he meant the 4800+ which is a brisbane architecture = newer = lower thermal output than windsor... at ANY speed? My two cents - newer = cooler.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2007, 07:36 AM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default dont laugh

is there a program that i can use to overclock the cpu cause my mother board is the elitegroup c51gm-m whick i can only adjust the voltage?? CMetaphor if i see u laughin imma pee in ur cereal lol i can overclock video cards and ram but i've never tried cpu . was scared to because of of failure rates.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old July 5, 2007, 11:56 AM
Cheator's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Posts: 1,093
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wankerfx View Post
I'd get a 5000+, it has the lowest TDP (greatest overclocking success) and can reach 3.2ghz on air.
This unfortunately isn't true with some low TDP AMDs now adays. The EE series AMDs didn't OC very well even though they had low TDP and starting voltage. This was true for K7 though.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mars View Post
If overclocking, get the slowest one with a multiplier that will work for you. Consider getting one with more L2 cache. (either the 5200+ or 5600+) You can increase clockspeed, but you can't increase L2 cache.
Having cache is nice, and I agree. I like 2x1mb by myself, but it also, generally, brings down the OC a bit. Its just more head under that HSF. Then again, if you aren't going for a big OC, then you don't need to worry.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old July 11, 2007, 07:55 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,522

My System Specs

Default

I know this is late, but the 4800+ Brisbane is not a good overclocker. The lower models outclock it.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Woman sues Geeks squad 54M: lost laptop Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 5 February 15, 2008 09:05 AM