Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 04:21 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Handbrake FTW! I really like this app, even moreso on the Mac as it'll go from DVD --> iPod in one step. :)
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 04:38 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,927

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thund3rball View Post
Handbrake FTW! I really like this app, even moreso on the Mac as it'll go from DVD --> iPod in one step. :)
I find it quite a bit faster for OSX as well, but my current mac is considerably less powerful than my windows based desktop.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 08:25 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by lowfat View Post
Ya that looks way confusing. Have you tried handbrake? The advanced options gives a considerable amount of control.
Confusing for a new user/someone who's never used it perhaps, but not to me.

The difference is equivalent to this, x264 = Assembly, megui using x264 = C, handbrake = Java/C#, badaboom = Visual Basic

The lower down the chain you go, the easier it is to use, but you lose control, efficiency, and at times, quality. The higher up you go, the harder it is to use, but the more control, better efficiency, quality and performance you can get.

Give me 5 minutes with the latest custom build of x264(and MeGui to double check my settings), and I can produce an encode that will finish faster, at a smaller size, and better quality, than anything you can do with handbrake, badaboom(well maybe not faster than badaboom, but defenatly better quality and size) and etc.

That's not to say Handbrake isn't bad, if you don't need studio quality encodes, its just fine for personal use. I'd have to double check but I'd be willing to bet handbrake, at its core, based around x264 anyways.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!

Last edited by Chilly; May 12, 2009 at 08:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2009, 05:16 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Perhaps you could write up a quick how-to for the use what you just explained in your last post Chilly?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old May 13, 2009, 10:36 AM
TopDogZero's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Ajax, Ontario
Posts: 558

My System Specs

Default

i find MediaCoder to be one of the best I have used so far. You can use a wizard or you can go advance with a ton of options, can also do video enhancements for lower quality videos during encoding and change the extension of the output files (useful for some mobile players like Samsung's .SVI extension), it only supports dual core at the moment I believe.

MediaCoder - more than a universal audio/video transcoder
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old June 28, 2009, 05:45 AM
Gellidius's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Quebec
Posts: 349

My System Specs

Default

I just found out (don't use it very often) that Tuneup Utilities' Shredder is multi threading.

It just 2 pass-shredded a 3GB file in about 10 mins on my pc.


(Moderator, if it's not multi threading, just delete this post.)
__________________
Jacques


Ego cogito, ergo deus non est.

Last edited by Gellidius; July 3, 2009 at 12:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old September 1, 2009, 02:49 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 659

My System Specs

Default

Sony's Vegas video editing suite is multi-threadded, also has support for distributed rendering over networked computers.
__________________
QuadZilla & The Four Horsemen

Have an A-1 day!
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 07:19 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,927

My System Specs

Default

That ffdshow link is REALLY old

This is the one you want
ffdshow
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old September 3, 2009, 07:19 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,927

My System Specs

Default

That ffdshow link is REALLY old

This is the one you want
ffdshow
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old October 14, 2009, 11:10 AM
Gellidius's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Quebec
Posts: 349

My System Specs

Default

I looked at some fractals on the net recently and have become interested.
There is one program that is multi threaded: Ultra Fractal.

this is an excerpt from the site:
"Ultra Fractal will run on any Pentium-class processor, but Core Duo, Pentium M, Pentium 4, or AMD Athlon processors are recommended for best performance. Ultra Fractal 5 will seamlessly take advantage of multi-core and multi-processor systems, so this is definitely recommended."

Ultra Fractal: Advanced Fractal Animation Software

a good source for seeing fractals is here:Browsing deviantART

Note: have a look at the "fractal" thread in the Graphic cards section of this site. there's a program that uses CUDA capable GPU's.
__________________
Jacques


Ego cogito, ergo deus non est.

Last edited by Gellidius; October 14, 2009 at 11:20 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multi Monitors Infiniti Display Units 1 December 7, 2008 09:55 AM
Threaded Optimization - Enable/Disable/Auto? encorp Video Cards 2 July 26, 2008 06:39 PM
Multi-Touch in Windows 7 Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 28, 2008 11:25 AM
where to buy right angle 3/8" BSP Threaded Barb for 3/8" ID Tubing? neurobashing Water Cooling 1 July 4, 2007 10:51 AM
Multi-PI for multi-cores? francois methot Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 17 May 5, 2007 02:18 PM