Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #31 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 10:08 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Sorry, CM... been busy doing some other stuff and not wanting to kill my system just yet .

I was able to beat my previous score a while back and submitted it to hwbot.
hwbot.org - somecanadianguy's wPrime 32m score

Maybe I'll give it another shot, but I think my RAM is holding me back.
I am a little afraid to OC it as it's not the greatest RAM, and I can't afford more for another couple months.
Reply With Quote
  #32 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 10:17 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Updated! Previous 32m score from that system has been replaced with the new one.

Perhaps having 6 sticks is a bit too tough on the system? Try with 3 sticks and push the frequency higher?
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #33 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 10:17 AM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somecanadianguy View Post
Sorry, CM... been busy doing some other stuff and not wanting to kill my system just yet .

I was able to beat my previous score a while back and submitted it to hwbot.
hwbot.org - somecanadianguy's wPrime 32m score

Maybe I'll give it another shot, but I think my RAM is holding me back.
I am a little afraid to OC it as it's not the greatest RAM, and I can't afford more for another couple months.
just a heads up, HWBot only accepts wPrime v1.55 results as valid and yours appear to be with the newer v2.00. they can be removed if reported. just guessing on your version you are using based on the verification link.
Reply With Quote
  #34 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 10:20 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3oh6 View Post
just a heads up, HWBot only accepts wPrime v1.55 results as valid and yours appear to be with the newer v2.00. they can be removed if reported. just guessing on your version you are using based on the verification link.
... Lame. But still, wPrime is newer, sleeker and actually detects certain systems (like mine) better than 1.55. But as I mentioned a few posts again, I'll accept results from either. Updating the title thread now.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #35 (permalink)  
Old June 11, 2009, 12:39 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
Perhaps having 6 sticks is a bit too tough on the system? Try with 3 sticks and push the frequency higher?
I am only using 3 sticks, but I'm a little hesitant to push them too hard.
From what I hear it's not really very good RAM.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3oh6 View Post
just a heads up, HWBot only accepts wPrime v1.55 results as valid and yours appear to be with the newer v2.00. they can be removed if reported. just guessing on your version you are using based on the verification link.
Thanks, 3oh6, I wasn't sure about that.
When I tried to submit from the hwbot site it said 1.55 only, but submitting straight from 2.0 worked.
I'll try again with 1.55 later.
Reply With Quote
  #36 (permalink)  
Old June 12, 2009, 08:38 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 252

My System Specs

Default

5.946 Seconds - 32m wPrime Multithreaded Benchmark
160.162 Seconds - 1024m wPrime Multithreaded Benchmark

CPU: Dual Xeon E5520 @ 2.26Ghz - 8 cores/ 16 threads
Motherboard: Asus Z8NA-D6C
RAM: 12GB unbuffered ECC, 6x2, DDR3-1066.

Screenshot: wprime results

Needs some tweaking, I think I could do better.

Last edited by DaleF; June 19, 2009 at 01:12 AM. Reason: New info
Reply With Quote
  #37 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 02:12 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,997

My System Specs

Default

Updated!
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #38 (permalink)  
Old June 22, 2009, 03:26 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Burnaby, BC
Posts: 252

My System Specs

Default

Decided to leave my old post for posterity. Same specs, a little tweaking managed to pull my 32M score down, but made little difference on my 1024M score.

5.694 Seconds - 32m wPrime Multithreaded Benchmark

EDIT: I just noticed that the score has the same numbers, just in a different order than my last score. That's interesting...

Last edited by DaleF; June 22, 2009 at 03:34 PM. Reason: Noted something interesting
Reply With Quote
  #39 (permalink)  
Old June 29, 2009, 12:15 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #40 (permalink)  
Old July 3, 2009, 05:37 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 4
Default

OCLed Nforce 3600 board 2352 B3s@2407 100 per pair on ebay.
running at 2407 because it is a very warm day today 30 degrees C and up.





2x4 Shanghai cores on a dell non OCLed 2300

^ have to assemble the server above to get screenies with cpu-z so this will take some time.

CM: you could OCL the NForce3600 board to up the 16 core score with my Nforce hack

Last edited by twobombs; July 4, 2009 at 11:17 AM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Superpi 32m Benchmark Competition Slaughter Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 96 July 20, 2014 03:17 AM
Superpi 1m Benchmark Competition Slaughter Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 311 July 20, 2014 03:17 AM
wPrime Benchmark v1.58 Prof. Dr. Silver Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 February 5, 2008 11:55 AM
Worst Comapanies in America 2007 Competition: Consumerist Babrbarossa Off Topic 4 March 20, 2007 02:07 PM
AMD offer 1/4 mill prize for architectural design competition Babrbarossa Off Topic 1 March 12, 2007 01:33 PM