Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #91 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2009, 11:47 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Tanker View Post
PS: @ Kattivo- Nice runs. Do you think you can get any more out of it.. i gather from your post, that it's on air? My 9550's on air.. and a C1. Hop to it...make me work. LOL
Correct! I am on air, but I know the chip is capable of 4.2 GHz since that's what CanadaRox had it at in his water-cooled rig. To be honest I have never tried to push it any farther since I am pretty happy with 4.0 GHz for 24/7 use.

Seeing as I have some free time now, I'll see what I can do.
Reply With Quote
  #92 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2009, 11:54 AM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
You 3oh6.... are absolutely insane! 8 Threads @ 5.2Ghz .... LOL. I'm still staring at your screenshot while trying to write this post. lol

Your comments make Behemoth blush... if it were capable of blushing... if it wasn't too busy slaughtering calculations.
Quote:
Originally Posted by CMetaphor View Post
I'm double posting... but I'd just like to point out that 3oh6 is beating many systems and very nearly Behemoth with 1 CPU OC'd. ONE!!! Not 2 or 4.... This is an insane accomplishment!!!
haha, i'll even quote your double post. thanks. i was a bit surprised that i was able to run 1024 @ 5.3GHz so easily. i mean, i basically ran them both at 5.2GHz, then rebooted and tried 5.3GHz...done. the key is the k|ngp|n F1EE pot. the old pot i have used for years just didn't have the mass to deal with 8 threads at those clocks. the F1EE eats those clocks for breakfast. i will sort out my OS issues and come back hopefully around 5.35GHz to see if i can't take out that green machine.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1Tanker View Post
I told you 3oh6 could do it...he loves the long tests. My fingers are crossed that he doesn't run it on a Yorkfield, or he'll have 1st locked up there...for sure.
i do love the long benches...but i'll take 32M SPi over 1024 wPrime any day. there is no tweaking to wPrime, it is all about the horsepower. heck, memory doesn't even help. you don't have to worry about me running a Yorkfield, have never even touched one. i skipped straight from C2D's to i7.

and i forgot, a couple shots of the rig...





hammered out a single card 33K 06 run as well with a GTX295 in the same session
Reply With Quote
  #93 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2009, 12:03 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3oh6 View Post
i will sort out my OS issues and come back hopefully around 5.35GHz to see if i can't take out that green machine.
Nooooo...... You can't take away the title! -Cherishes an invisible medal- hehe. We shall see... I might just have some tricks up my sleeve when Behemoth returns to the land of the ON... heh.

And thats all the hints Anyone gets for now... Teehee.
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #94 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2009, 12:16 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 61

My System Specs

Default

Ok, same setup as before except at 4.3 GHz....couldn't pull off a 1024 though. Sorta just hangs at the end of the test.

32M - 8.984

Reply With Quote
  #95 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2009, 12:29 PM
Arinoth's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Halifax
Posts: 8,579

My System Specs

Default

The complete specs are in my signature
Attached Images
 
Reply With Quote
  #96 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2009, 12:31 PM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Updated! The battle for the title of "Top Core2" commences!
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
  #97 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2009, 12:34 PM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Holy crap...that's fast! Nice. My best(@ 4403) is 9.406. What OS are you using..W-7? Maybe it is faster in wPrime than XP. I get that hang at the end of 1024 also...very irritating.
Reply With Quote
  #98 (permalink)  
Old August 18, 2009, 02:44 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Whelp, this is all she'll do without suicidal amounts of voltage. I'll get you dual-proc guys next hardware generation!
Name:  217x21.jpg
Views: 767
Size:  110.4 KB
(You can erase my earlier i7 entry, Cmetaphor.)
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #99 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2009, 07:50 AM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

well, i still don't think i am going to be able to catch Behemoth, even with this better chip i got. without figuring out why my OS is so slow, i am all but out of options now. oh and for those asking, Vista/W7 is much quicker than XP...from my experience...in wPrime. i am just not sure which version is faster Vista/W7. as i said, there are guys on HWBot with the same times as me above with 100MHz+ less CPU clocks so there is clearly something i am missing. i am running Vista 32-bit for the results i have posted here.

latest...



now this is about as good a CPU as i will be able to get, and it is running out of gas here so you very well might be safe with the multi-core-monster
Reply With Quote
  #100 (permalink)  
Old August 22, 2009, 08:24 AM
CMetaphor's Avatar
Quadfather
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Posts: 4,994

My System Specs

Default

Updated! Nice run 3oh6!
__________________
"Backed by common sense and physics!" -Squeetard
Opteron Server for Sale! http://www.hardwarecanucks.com/forum...ade-ideas.html
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Superpi 32m Benchmark Competition Slaughter Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 96 July 20, 2014 03:17 AM
Superpi 1m Benchmark Competition Slaughter Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 311 July 20, 2014 03:17 AM
wPrime Benchmark v1.58 Prof. Dr. Silver Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 February 5, 2008 11:55 AM
Worst Comapanies in America 2007 Competition: Consumerist Babrbarossa Off Topic 4 March 20, 2007 02:07 PM
AMD offer 1/4 mill prize for architectural design competition Babrbarossa Off Topic 1 March 12, 2007 01:33 PM