Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2009, 07:41 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 11
Default M2A VM... does hypertransport speed really matter

I have an M2A VM, and a Phenom 9750. I'm thinking about putting them together. Here's my question - does this board, with a lower hypertransport, really hinder the power of this chip.

I'm putting these two together, cause I'm going to put a Phenom 2 955, 945 or 940 on another more advanced board, where I harvested the Phenom 9750.

So
1) Does the M2A VM, with lower hypertransport, really impact performance
2) Any thoughts on which Phenom 2 would be good. I just want something fast
3) *Chaos Theory*... Would I be better off junking this board, and going for a Q9400, all things considered, as opposed to a Phenom 2

Thanks.

Last edited by CookieMonster8; May 13, 2009 at 05:58 PM. Reason: no one is answering
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2009, 10:18 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 102
Default

I have the same board as you.

1) No. The hypertransport doesnt hinder the performance noticably
2) Phenom 945 is a good choice if you dont have tooooo much money
3) AMD is crap compared to intel in my opinion. I'd have gone intel if i had more money.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 15, 2009, 10:36 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,896

My System Specs

Default

A Phenom II X3 720 would suit you fine without breaking the bank. Of course you need to get a proper AM2+/AM3 motherboard with a AMD 7-series chipset, since that board you have doesn't support Phenom II. The Phenom II X4 940 would be the other choice if you want a quad-core.

And running the Phenom 9750 on the M2A-VM is probably fine. Those CPU's weren't exactly good to begin with, so I wouldn't worry too much.

As for the Intel route, yeah it's probably the better choice but more costly.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old August 23, 2009, 09:23 AM
jcmaz's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 2,453

My System Specs

Default

Sorry for bumping an old thread, but can update w/ their user experience w/ the Phenom II w/ this board?
__________________
“Wise men speak because they have something to say; Fools because they have to say something.”

-Plato
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Amd: M2a vm jcmaz CPU's and Motherboards 5 May 23, 2009 06:31 PM
FS: Intel Core 2 CPUs zoob Buy/Sell & Trade 12 December 19, 2008 08:06 PM
TjMax for 45nm Intel CPUs geokilla CPU's and Motherboards 15 August 25, 2008 04:04 AM
FS: AMD CPUs and Motherboards JD Buy/Sell & Trade 10 March 28, 2008 03:47 PM
New Notebook CPUs from AMD Thund3rball Press Releases & Tech News 15 March 13, 2008 09:56 AM