Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 01:27 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 86

My System Specs

Default I have a Pentium D is it good??

I have pentium D and i dont is it a good cpu?
its 3ghz

my pc is like 4 years old or sumtn
i dont even remember when i got it but it was soo long ago
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 01:38 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,684

My System Specs

Default

While it is a dual core CPU, it can't perform near as fast as Core 2 Duo CPUs can. C2Ds can perform more operations per clock cycle than Pentium Ds. I'm confused though. What are you implying?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 01:54 PM
Shadowmeph's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 3,452

My System Specs

Default

I guess it all depends on what you are using it for. I built two PCs with Pentium 4s in them for my niece and nephew . one is used just for Movies and internet and the other he games with , nothing hard core but he can play COD and Enemy territory Diablo2 LOD at Low-Med settings with out any problems so like I said it all depends on what you are using your COmputer for.
I used to own a P4 and then switched to dual core and to be totally Honest the only time I notice the difference between the two is when I am Multi tasking other then that they pretty much are the same to me
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 02:11 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 1,515

My System Specs

Default

You have a Pentium D and you don't? Huh?
__________________
For my part I know nothing with any certainty, but the sight of the stars makes me dream.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 02:14 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Its a good cpu for a office computer.
Its a good cpu for using a throwing star.
Its a good cpu for using as a back scratcher.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 02:26 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,684

My System Specs

Default

I pick all of the above!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 02:48 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,950

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by enaberif View Post
Its a good cpu for a office computer.
Its a good cpu for using a throwing star.
Its a good cpu for using as a back scratcher.
I wouldn't use it in an office PC, they're slow and energy inefficient. AMD Athlon X2s are better IMO.

But yeah, not a good CPU and not worth keeping if you're planning on doing upgrades or something.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 02:50 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
I wouldn't use it in an office PC, they're slow and energy inefficient. AMD Athlon X2s are better IMO.

But yeah, not a good CPU and not worth keeping if you're planning on doing upgrades or something.
I never said for working with :P
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 09:12 PM
dataxpert's Avatar
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Chertsey , 60km north of Montreal
Posts: 366
Default

What is the rest of your system.... is it the HP, with the burn motherboard.... if so forgot this pentium D , you will pay and still have the same crap. better invest few $ more and get a new CPu


Quote:
Originally Posted by hen555 View Post
I have pentium D and i dont is it a good cpu?
its 3ghz

my pc is like 4 years old or sumtn
i dont even remember when i got it but it was soo long ago
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 3, 2009, 10:15 PM
TimTheEnchanter's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 841
Default

It is not a good cpu.

BUT! before asking such a question, tell us the use you make out of it. Wanna run Crysis?

If it is only for office work, i guess it is fine.
__________________

Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] Older Pentium M cpu's mklym Buy/Sell & Trade 2 January 11, 2009 09:19 PM
Good Pentium 4 Motherboard jetOne CPU's and Motherboards 8 December 29, 2008 10:26 PM
New build! going from a Pentium 2 450! Maculosa New Builds 3 November 4, 2008 09:13 PM
Overclocking Pentium D820 silverchair Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 2 September 12, 2007 08:57 PM
Pentium Lives!! Pentium E2160 and Pentium E2140 Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 4 June 4, 2007 05:25 AM