Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #81 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 11:56 AM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HuttFuzz View Post
Also quick questions. Do you think there would be a difference between 191x20(21 w/turbo on) and 191x19(21 w/turbo on) ? Difference in the temps i mean.
not sure what you mean here. 191x19 with turbo is only 191x20...unless your motherboard automatically pushes 21X with turbo enabled which is common. if that is the case, then you "shouldn't" see a difference. don't think of turbo as anything other than opening the 21X multi. so 191x21 is 191x21, temps should be the same..."should".

Quote:
Originally Posted by bojangles View Post
Yeah that's what I had to run. 191x21 (Turbo mode) has been stable for awhile now. I've been running two instances of FAH with CPU Affinity change and I'm getting just over 6000 PPD. That's without VMware either. It's been running all through the night. It's seen temps as high as 78 degrees now though. I may be able to drop the voltage down a bit

Perhaps I'll try running a single fan on the TRUE and see if that extra fan is actually doing anything. I need a better elastic band on the second fan too...I'm afraid of it breaking on me.
good to hear 191*21 is running smoothly. i think temps are fine for that but obviously if you can lower the vCORE, that's a bonus.

the second fan is likely doing a lot, and not just for the CPU. it is definitely helping the PWM heat sink as well by blowing just above it. my guess would be a pretty substantial increase in CPU and PWM temps with the second fan (the pull fan) taken out.
Reply With Quote
  #82 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 12:11 PM
HuttFuzz's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 50
Default

Thanks 3oh6. It's just because i read a lot of threads implying that some i7 have problems with the 20x multi. So some pointed out that running 19x191 (21 w/turbo) rather than 20x191 would fix that problem.

My guess is that D0s don't have problem with the 20 multi anyways.

And yeah my turbo puts it to 21 on the 19 and 20 multi, but not on lower multi.

So far i have 2 passes of LinX with the lowered vcore and temps are ~ 3 C lower.
__________________
Core i7 920(D0) @4.0 1.212v | Gigabyte EX58-UD3R | OCZ Gold 3x2GB CL8 | Silverstone FT01-BW | TRUE 1366-RT | eVga GTX275 FTW (713/1512/1260) | Corsair TX850w | Hitachi 500GB | Seagate 7200.11 750GB | Dual Screen (Dell 2208wfp & Viewsonic VP930b)
Reply With Quote
  #83 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 02:53 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HuttFuzz View Post
Hey bojangles, we have very similar setup!

Ok i'm trying LinX on 191x21 now. Lowered the vcore 2 notch down to 1.232 load.

Same idle temps so far.
Yeah I wanted to try a Gigabyte board but Lun didn't have any. I needed equipment immediately because my other board died on me. It was either the Rampage II Gene or the EVGA board and P6T Deluxe. I went with EVGA for their fantastic support. So far I am very pleased with it.

I'm going to try lowering the voltage by .125 V and see what happens and perhaps lower some other things. But as of now it's running flawlessly. I've been folding for almost 15 hours now.
Reply With Quote
  #84 (permalink)  
Old May 9, 2009, 03:25 PM
HuttFuzz's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 50
Default

Ok 20 passes of LinX and stable 191x21. 1.216 Vcore. Max temp 80 C. Idle 45C.

I'm happy

Prime95 now, should have max temp 76 or something.
__________________
Core i7 920(D0) @4.0 1.212v | Gigabyte EX58-UD3R | OCZ Gold 3x2GB CL8 | Silverstone FT01-BW | TRUE 1366-RT | eVga GTX275 FTW (713/1512/1260) | Corsair TX850w | Hitachi 500GB | Seagate 7200.11 750GB | Dual Screen (Dell 2208wfp & Viewsonic VP930b)
Reply With Quote
  #85 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2009, 07:57 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Batch # 3845B026.

Will put new system together today or tomorrow. Have to back up my stuff first.
This is what I got.
Cooler Master Haf 932/I7 920 D0/OCZ Vendetta 2/Corsair 750TX psu/Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R/6GB OCZ PC3 12800 Platinum Series/Asus 4870 DK Top/1-500GB WD RE3/1-500GB WD Black/1-320GB Segate/Sound Blaster X-Fi Extreme/2 Samsung SH203 DVD/Windows 7 RC 64
Reply With Quote
  #86 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2009, 08:41 AM
HuttFuzz's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 50
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by maddogatc View Post
Batch # 3845B026.

Will put new system together today or tomorrow. Have to back up my stuff first.
This is what I got.
Cooler Master Haf 932/I7 920 D0/OCZ Vendetta 2/Corsair 750TX psu/Gigabyte GA-EX58-UD3R/6GB OCZ PC3 12800 Platinum Series/Asus 4870 DK Top/1-500GB WD RE3/1-500GB WD Black/1-320GB Segate/Sound Blaster X-Fi Extreme/2 Samsung SH203 DVD/Windows 7 RC 64
We have mostly same Mobo/CPU/Ram, so i'm eager to see your results.
__________________
Core i7 920(D0) @4.0 1.212v | Gigabyte EX58-UD3R | OCZ Gold 3x2GB CL8 | Silverstone FT01-BW | TRUE 1366-RT | eVga GTX275 FTW (713/1512/1260) | Corsair TX850w | Hitachi 500GB | Seagate 7200.11 750GB | Dual Screen (Dell 2208wfp & Viewsonic VP930b)
Reply With Quote
  #87 (permalink)  
Old May 11, 2009, 01:20 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 425

My System Specs

Default

Yes, it will be interesting to see how vendetta 2 performs with D0, please post temps.
Reply With Quote
  #88 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 11:35 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Default

I picked up one of the 3845B026... it appears to be stable at 1.22 or so, but man... the heat it puts out. I'm at 75-85 with a TRUE, 2 fans and MX-2. At first, I thought I put too much paste or something, then I came across this thread.

What kinds of voltages are you guys running for your uncore?

In previous builds, I found the TRUE to be around equal to custom water setups I had, but I wonder if it'll make a difference on this particular CPU. Anyone with this batch and water out there?
Reply With Quote
  #89 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 08:00 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
Default

How come I need 1.25 for a CPU from the same batch? What's your QPI voltage? Have you manually set IOH?

Quote:
Originally Posted by HuttFuzz View Post
Ok 20 passes of LinX and stable 191x21. 1.216 Vcore. Max temp 80 C. Idle 45C.

I'm happy

Prime95 now, should have max temp 76 or something.
Reply With Quote
  #90 (permalink)  
Old May 12, 2009, 08:11 PM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by loybond View Post
How come I need 1.25 for a CPU from the same batch? What's your QPI voltage? Have you manually set IOH?
because not all CPU's are the same, even from the same piece of silicon. there are variations on every square inch of a silicon pie. on top of that, not all motherboards report the same voltage. simple variations in reported voltage and actual voltage could explain the difference...you very well could be running at the exact same voltage.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes