Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #121 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2009, 10:15 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,917

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sheepdogexpress View Post
Come on lowfat, you know the drill batch and clocks. :)
3849a846. Only tried up to 4GHz until today. Trying for a bit more. So far so good. This is w/ 1.275V. Cooled with my CM V10. May try for more but having a nice round 200BLCK, 4200MHz CPU, 1600MHz DRAM, and 3200MHz Uncore feels and sounds good.
Reply With Quote
  #122 (permalink)  
Old June 5, 2009, 10:18 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Very nice job lowfat. That's a really good clock. You could probably push 210 at that voltage.
Reply With Quote
  #123 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2009, 09:21 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

So would it be worth the hassle to sell my c0 and get a d0?
Someone has made me a generous offer and I'm tempted to sell.
It looks like temps aren't really much better... just lower voltages needed.
I'm not sure what to do...
Reply With Quote
  #124 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2009, 09:42 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Never any guarantees on this kind of stuff, and not all D0's are magical. But if you want to roll the dice, and can do so with a minimum of cost, might be worth considering.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #125 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2009, 09:44 AM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somecanadianguy View Post
It looks like temps aren't really much better... just lower voltages needed.
not always the case...not all D0's are the same type of chips, just like not all C0's are or any other processor produced. there are differences in silicon from one wafer to the next and there will be inherit differences in the chips.

first rule of overclocking...not all hardware is the same, you can not generalize in any way with blanket statements like above.
Reply With Quote
  #126 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2009, 09:55 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,824

My System Specs

Default

buy the d0 and test it and sell the one you don't want. if your friend is not an overclocker then he won't care.
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #127 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2009, 09:56 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I'm just wondering if it's worth the gamble.
I don't have money to buy one to test first.
Reply With Quote
  #128 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2009, 10:42 AM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by somecanadianguy View Post
I'm just wondering if it's worth the gamble.
I don't have money to buy one to test first.
do you need anything more than 3.8GHz? is there anything in particular that maybe a 200~300MHz increase will drastically change. the odds of getting one of the really special 4.4GHz chips is highly unlikely and unless you are crunching time sensitive data like rendering or something of that nature, i would have to say that is absolutely isn't worth the gamble.

if of course you can sell one and buy the other for the same price or close to it, then why not...you likely aren't going to get a worse chip than the one you got.
Reply With Quote
  #129 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2009, 12:46 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,683

My System Specs

Default

Only gamble for a D0 if you want to fold faster! BWAHAHAHA.

But yeah, when I was over at 3oh6's house I understood that I didn't need all that power inside my computer. I mean, it's nice to have, but I don't need to run it that high unless I want to fold faster or unzip a large file quicker. Other than that, it's really no significance over a few hundred MHz.
Reply With Quote
  #130 (permalink)  
Old June 6, 2009, 12:53 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I use my computer mainly for rendering and working on 3d/2d art.
3.8GHz is great, but 4GHz would be better... and so on...
If I can get what I'm asking for it I'll probably go for it and see what happens.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes