Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2009, 04:46 PM
Pokeguylow's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 23
Default Does 790X (not GX) mother boards support Dragon Platform?

Topic. Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2009, 06:17 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Dragon platform consist of Phenom II, 790GX(ddr3) , 4800 series

The 790X is consider spider platform, i think

anyways, the only differences between each of them would be the DDR3
For dragon platform you have to pay more for the motherboard and DDR3 ram

I personally think its a waste of money to go dragon platform at this stage. 890 chip set is right around the corner
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2009, 06:29 PM
Realityshift's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Fort McMurray, AB
Posts: 2,486
Default

Yeah Im pretty sure hes right about it being the spider platform although its kind of a hybrid if you run a phenom II in it =P Spider platform was based on the phenom I CPUs.
__________________
The Builders Hammer
Asrock P67 Fatal1ty, Intel i5 2500K @ 5.1ghz, 16gb HyperX 1600 CL8, Evga GTX 580 SC SLIed and water-cooled, HX850, Crucial M4 64gb, 640 black, 1tb + 3x 2tb greens, Haf X.


BF BC2: Bishop_SHIFT, Steam: Realityshift84, Xbox Live - SHIFTEDone84 ... Come play.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2009, 06:48 PM
Killswitch's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Sault Ste Marie, Ontario
Posts: 839

My System Specs

Default

I think the spider platform consisted of first generation Phenoms, 790 chipsets, and 3800 series ATI cards. Dragon platforms refer to Phenom II's, 790 chipsets, and 4800 series ATI cards.

Anywho, if your bios is fully updated then the answer is yes. What motherboard do you have?

Last edited by Killswitch; April 26, 2009 at 06:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 26, 2009, 08:37 PM
sa seba's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 280

My System Specs

Default

The 790X is just a 790GX without integrated GPU, that's all there is to it.
Basically, for a budget Phenom 2 setup, that chipset is perfect. (if you don't want to wait for the 800 chips)
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2009, 03:11 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 409

My System Specs

Default

What does the 800 series chipset do, over the 790? and when will it come out? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 27, 2009, 07:00 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

they said it should be Q3 or Q4
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2009, 07:07 PM
clone63's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bellehole
Posts: 669

My System Specs

Default

What is the integrated graphic processor going to be? For the 800 I mean.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 4, 2009, 07:18 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

probably Ati 4200 - Ati 4400 series
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 8, 2009, 05:26 AM
Exmortis's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 172
Default

790FX is the top of the chipsets for the series. It has support for quad Crossfire, and no graphics. It must be paired with the SB750.

I have a Asus M3A79T Deluxe with the 790FX and used both a older althon X2 and now a Phenom II 940 Black CPU, and it performs awesome. I am veryu happy with it, I had it OC'd to 3.6 Stable on air, but I had to up the voltage a little higher to get 3.8 then I like, still within spec but on the edge. I have not used the new Overdrive 3.0 yet, I will soon. I am now looking at a win7 drive to the system to play with it, so that will take up a chunk of my time. Also fishing season is about to decend upon us, and well, my computer gets a little onely.
__________________
Exmortis's System

Corsair 600T White
Asus RoG Maximus V Gene
Intel i7-2600K w/Corsair H100
16GB Gskill DDR3 2400MHz
AMD R9 290X
OCZ Revo 3 240GB
OCZ Vertex 3 240GB
WD Velocirapter 600GB
LG DVD burner
LG Bluray Burner
Windows 7x64 Prem
Asus VE24/VE27/VE24
Logitech Z-5450 5.1 speakers
Corsair AX850 Gold PSU
Corsair K90 Keyboard
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dragon Age: Origins Evilyeti Gaming 204 April 10, 2010 08:33 AM
Chieftec Dragon ? FrankyG Cases 9 October 12, 2008 10:12 PM
Intel Nehalem Platform To Support SLI MAC Press Releases & Tech News 17 August 4, 2008 04:30 PM
Chieftec Dragon - nothing fancy 999Virus999 Case Mods, Worklog & Gallery 8 January 17, 2008 04:44 PM
Anyone watching Dragon's Den? Gav Off Topic 2 November 6, 2006 10:09 PM