Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2009, 03:43 PM
Spikemaul's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 396

My System Specs

Default Questions about installing a new processor?

Hey guys, I'm thinking about upgrading to the new Phenom 2 955 and would like to know if one must do a fresh OS install after installing the new chip? I have the Gigabyte MA-78G-DS3H mobo and this processor is compatable with this mobo with a bios flash to F7a. I flashed the bios a while ago from F2 to F6 in preperation for a 940 but I decided to wait until the 955 came out. Thanks in advance for your quick responses and comments.


Cheers and Go Bruins GO!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2009, 03:47 PM
Eldonko's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 5,445
Default

Just flash the latest BIOS and swap the CPU and you are good
__________________
Donkeys kill more people annually than plane crashes or shark attacks.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2009, 04:14 PM
FiXT's Avatar
Hall of Fame
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: GVRD
Posts: 3,343

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Spikemaul View Post

Cheers and Go Bruins GO!
Traitor



But to answer your question - it is exactly likely Eldonko said. Provided you have flashed the bios to the most recent release which SPECIFICALLY lists the 955 on its support page (as the MA78G-DS3H bios does) then just plug the new CPU in and your good to go
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2009, 06:36 PM
Spikemaul's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Regina, Saskatchewan
Posts: 396

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FiXT View Post
Traitor



But to answer your question - it is exactly likely Eldonko said. Provided you have flashed the bios to the most recent release which SPECIFICALLY lists the 955 on its support page (as the MA78G-DS3H bios does) then just plug the new CPU in and your good to go

Thanks.

GIGABYTE - Support&Download - Motherboard - CPU Support List - GA-MA78G-DS3H (rev. 1.0)

This website shows that the 955 will work with this mobo with the bios flashed to the F7A version.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 24, 2009, 07:04 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,635

My System Specs

Default

Just to chip in, my ASUS M2N-E with BIOS version 1701 supports Phenom II, even though ASUS denies this. So for those that have motherboards which don't currently support Phenom II, give it a try anyways.
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Installing a new waterblock shayan288 Water Cooling 20 March 19, 2009 03:17 PM
installing OS Jim Guides & How-to's 6 January 29, 2009 01:52 PM
Best way of installing raid 1 Phobia Storage 3 January 8, 2009 11:55 PM
installing a motherboard Defiant CPU's and Motherboards 8 December 17, 2008 01:38 PM
help installing heatsink Zippoh Air Cooling 26 December 9, 2008 09:36 PM