Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2009, 03:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Default Have Intel e7200 w/ 4gb ram on Vista ultimate 32bit, go quad core?

I'm on a budget and my system currently is as below:

Intel C2D e7200, 4gb PC6400 Corsair RAM, Gigabyte
GA-73PVM-S2H.
Its a micro ATX case with 420W PSU.

I recently started doing a LOT more video encoding, mainly from HD-DVD evo files to blu-ray format and a typical 720p w/ DD 5.1 will take about 8~9 hours to encode with RipBot264 and 1080p will take about 12~13hrs. I see in perfmon that CPU is pegged at 100% and Ram about 1.9gb (Windows Vista Ultimate 32bit with little to nothing running in background except Symantec AV). If I upgrade to a Core 2 Quad like a Q8300 or 8500, will i see significant difference in encoding time (like 30% or more drop?) without changing any other components? Appreciate any info and suggestion.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2009, 03:26 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Depends on the software, but yes, encode times should drop.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2009, 03:28 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca View Post
Depends on the software, but yes, encode times should drop.
The software is RipBot264 which i think is mostly a front-end app for AVIsynth and various DEMUXERs. I KNOW the time will drop, but I'm looking for a little more specific info than that.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2009, 03:32 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,604
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by teaberry View Post
The software is RipBot264 which i think is mostly a front-end app for AVIsynth and various DEMUXERs. I KNOW the time will drop, but I'm looking for a little more specific info than that.
Unless someone else uses it I'm probably going to bet that its not optimized for multiple cores and your times will drop slightly but not a whole lot but upgrading.

While a cpu CAN help.. unless that specific program is written to take advantage of multicores, you'll find little benefit usually.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2009, 03:34 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

heheh. FOr specific answers, you need specific questions!!!

q6600 @ 2.4ghz encodes 2hrs of 720x360, dual video stream, single audio, in 15 minutes, using Sony Vegas.

PLus, it matters if streaming file from disc to encode(disc-player read speed limitations), or from HDD....etc,etc,etc...

I don't havea quad onhand myself, but maybe you could find a file we can download, to encode, and another member wit ha quad will do teh same file, and give you an answer?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2009, 04:52 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Here you go, my PC specs are in my sig. Also running Windows 7 x64 Build 7077.

Clearly its multi-threaded so yes a quad-core will help. Though clock speed will also play a large factor. Took 4m11s to complete.
Attached Images
   
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2009, 05:24 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

So there you go. I know that that clip is widely available, so give it a go, and you'll have your answer!

Thank's JD, I assume when you did that, system was at the clockspeeds in your sig?
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2009, 05:28 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,531

My System Specs

Default

Make sure you report back to let the rest of us know.... :)
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2009, 06:17 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca View Post
So there you go. I know that that clip is widely available, so give it a go, and you'll have your answer!

Thank's JD, I assume when you did that, system was at the clockspeeds in your sig?
Yup, haven't ran anything but 3.4GHz for quite some time.

I also have 12MB L2 cache which those Q8xxx chips lack. Not sure if that would effect encoding times drastically though.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 20, 2009, 06:49 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Wow thanks JD, that's exactly what I'm looking for except I'm not planning to spend that much money on a processor yet

Also, I can only find a torrent of the same file so going to dl it (will take a few hours) and try it on my C2D e7200 and will report back. FYI, I'm running a Seagate HDD, cant remember the model but its 7200rpm SATA 16mb cache 3gb/sec

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdrom17 View Post
Here you go, my PC specs are in my sig. Also running Windows 7 x64 Build 7077.

Clearly its multi-threaded so yes a quad-core will help. Though clock speed will also play a large factor. Took 4m11s to complete.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8200 vs Intel Core 2 Duo E8500 Hanibal{CA} New Builds 18 August 10, 2009 07:53 PM
[WTB] Intel Core 2 Quad Q9550 mchutch Buy/Sell & Trade 1 April 10, 2009 02:27 PM
which of Intel Core 2 Quad CPU's can be OC'ed? Reinvented2 CPU's and Motherboards 10 September 7, 2008 08:09 AM
Vista 32bit RAM limitations Babrbarossa RAM 22 July 16, 2007 06:31 AM
Vista 64bit vs. XP 32bit 4GB RAM bench comparo Eldonko O/S's, Drivers & General Software 13 May 14, 2007 01:09 PM