Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 10:56 AM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Are you using the right screws?
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 11:03 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

I'm using the ones with the little lip on them... they came with the case.
Should I be using the other ones?
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 11:07 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

check with the standoffs because i think i know where he's going with this they won't screw down because there too small better to make sure that they screw all the way down in just a standoff to be sure
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 11:08 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

If that's the case what should I do?
I'll go check now.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 11:11 AM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default

Ok... looks like that's what's wrong.
Will it be ok like this for now?
What should I do?
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 11:41 AM
486's Avatar
486 486 is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 397

My System Specs

Default

Your MB screws are too long for your MB standoffs, so you tighten the screws in standoffs, but it won't hold the MB.
__________________
Silverstone TJ-08E
Seasonic X-660
Asus P8Z77-M Pro
Intel i7-3770
Kingstone HyperX 2 x 8GB
Crucial M4 256GB + 128 GB
Sapphire Radeon HD7970
Nec Multisync LCD2690WUXI
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 11:42 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

just go to the hardware store and find ones that fit and do the job ( or if your like the rest of us tech people you have bags of these screws lying around )
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 11:43 AM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,828

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 486 View Post
Your MB screws are too long for your MB standoffs, so you tighten the screws in standoffs, but it won't hold the MB.
ether that or there the wrong thread size and won't stay tight you hit that nail or screw on the head
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 03:16 PM
Perineum's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Surrey, B.C.
Posts: 4,039

My System Specs

Default

You will definately want to fix that.... you're going to move your case one day and case flex is going to cause one of those screws to pop out.... if you're lucky they might just cause a short that the power supply handles just fine....

If you're unlucky, well... you'll wish you'd have gone back and done it right
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old April 17, 2009, 04:52 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

Try the other screws that came with the case? One of them will fit properly.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel moves X58/Nehalem to September! encorp CPU's and Motherboards 3 August 1, 2008 08:19 AM
Motherboard help maurier Troubleshooting 9 May 22, 2008 12:21 PM
New motherboard Infiniti CPU's and Motherboards 6 April 30, 2008 06:55 PM
Looking for a new motherboard JD CPU's and Motherboards 1 December 30, 2007 01:14 AM
Intel moves up schedule for Pentium E2000 and Celeron 400 Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 0 January 30, 2007 06:09 AM