Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 01:05 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,114

My System Specs

Default eVGA X58, poor BCLK overclocking.

For the life of me I can't get higher than 180 BCLK which is causing me a bottleneck. I've tried increasing all the voltages, adjusting the MCH strap, all of which don't help. Is there something I am missing? On the EX58-DS4 I was using before I had no problem reaching 210 BCLK with everything on default voltages.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 02:10 PM
gingerbee's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Orillia, Ontario
Posts: 6,827

My System Specs

Default

on my ds4 i have to give very high voltage for a stable bclk above 185 1.4 vcore and qpi (thats only with my muilty 21) tops out at 210 if i drop it down
__________________
Fav quote "One should strive to achieve; not sit in bitter regret." Ronin Harris
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 03:20 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

I don't have the board personally, although if you post your BIOS settings, something might jump out. Any idea what the 'Auto' on the Giga board was using?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 05:29 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,114

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
I don't have the board personally, although if you post your BIOS settings, something might jump out. Any idea what the 'Auto' on the Giga board was using?
Not sure what auto was on the Gigabyte board, but here are the current settings of the eVGA.



__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 06:39 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

How does your memory run at 800Mhz, at a 2:6 ratio (suggests a 133BLCK), yet your Uncore is running at 2805MHz at a 16x ratio (suggests a 175BLCK)? Or does this board let you run separate clocks? And what is the QPI multiplier?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old April 13, 2009, 07:11 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,114

My System Specs

Default

The memory is actually running @ 1050MHz. 800MHz / 2:6 is just the selection. That isn't the actual memory clock. The QPU multi is @ 36X I do believe.
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 08:00 AM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

lower QPI to 4.8 manually, just to be sure. then lower all of the voltages to where they start, no need for having them even green...especially drop CPU PLL to 1.5v, i have found this to help with some processors. the only voltages you are going to want to touch are vCORE / vDIMM of course and VTT. +200 may be what is holding you back. remember, the X58 SLI starts with a base of 1.1v so +200mv is 1.3v...but...the X58 SLI also under volts what is set by about .05v and even more under load (here). so start with +300mv and see what happens. don't be afraid to go up to +350 or +400 either.

if the voltage adjustments don't help, try firing PCI-E up to 110. HTH
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 09:05 AM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 8,114

My System Specs

Default

I tried everything in your list, still will crash within a minute of prime. I am using 12GB of ram, should there be anything else I should increase because of this?
__________________
Mael
Big Lian Li
Forever Alone
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old April 14, 2009, 09:07 AM
3oh6's Avatar
Hardware Canucks Reviewer
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 1,052
Default

never worked with 12GB of memory so i have no idea what effects that will have. i am assuming more VTT but it might just not be able to handle high BCLK and that much memory. that is a lot of work for the IMC.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old April 16, 2009, 12:08 PM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

I had very little problems at all getting stable with Bclk 200 Mhz x 19 Mult for 3.8 Ghz.....running Memory at 2:8 1600 Mhz vDimm 1.60v 8-8-8-24 74 1T
vCore "with vDroop 1.3125v" and VTT + 175mv.
As 3Oh pointed out its likely your 12GB RAM that is the "speed bump"....You could always try 6GB RAM and see how that works for you....do you really need 12GB?
If so...also as 3Oh pointed out, bump up your VTT to around +350mv and go from thier.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EVGA X58 Classified belgolas CPU's and Motherboards 121 April 6, 2009 05:52 PM
VR-Zone & EVGA Forums - EVGA X58 SLI Classified - NF200 Monster! zlojack Press Releases & Tech News 26 March 19, 2009 07:05 PM
EVGA X58 New Bios Update will Support 1600MHZ RAMS without Overclocking? appplejack Rumor Mill 2 December 9, 2008 11:58 PM
EVGA X58 Vs Asus P6T X58 Deluxe appplejack CPU's and Motherboards 52 December 9, 2008 11:26 PM
EVGA X58 kruzn4evr CPU's and Motherboards 14 November 17, 2008 08:29 PM