Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 06:34 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 504
Default Motherboard Swap?

Anybody know if you want to test P45 Intel chipset boards if you can swap Gigabyte and Asus without and OS reload?

Just delete the necessaries in device manager first before shutting down and swapping out motherboards?
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.12
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel SSD
Win 10 Pro x64




Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 06:40 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 17,193

My System Specs

Default

95% chance that a swap between the same chipset boards will be fine.
__________________
ASUS ROG Strix Z370-G Gaming (WiFi AC) / i7 8700K / 2X 8G XPG Spectrix D40 (3000) / XFX XTR 750 / ASUS Strix GTX 1070ti
AZZA Titan 240 / Custom WC / Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / ASUS SWIFT PG279Q

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 1X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 06:43 PM
Allstar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 504
Talking

Thanks a lot

Kinda fiigured be okay......but never hurts to ask

I want to play with a couple different boards this weekend

I appreciate the comments,positive or negative
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.12
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel SSD
Win 10 Pro x64




Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 08:28 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,654
Default

Of course a clean windows install is best, but often times you can swap the motherboard without much issue, even successful cross brand(AMD->Intel) swap aren't unheard of.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 08:32 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,976

My System Specs

Default

I just helped my buddy switch motherboards from p35 to p45 and he's using the same install of windows no problems yet.
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swap similar motherboards JD Troubleshooting 8 March 11, 2009 05:28 PM
Motherboard rev?? bstring CPU's and Motherboards 2 January 12, 2008 02:55 PM
Motherboard and CPU help please vintank CPU's and Motherboards 0 January 8, 2008 09:13 PM
Notebook LCD Swap Stinger Display Units 0 October 6, 2007 06:14 PM
Motherboard swap & FC5 Perrin49 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 January 31, 2007 04:10 PM