Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 07:34 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default Motherboard Swap?

Anybody know if you want to test P45 Intel chipset boards if you can swap Gigabyte and Asus without and OS reload?

Just delete the necessaries in device manager first before shutting down and swapping out motherboards?
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 07:40 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,780

My System Specs

Default

95% chance that a swap between the same chipset boards will be fine.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 07:43 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Talking

Thanks a lot

Kinda fiigured be okay......but never hurts to ask

I want to play with a couple different boards this weekend

I appreciate the comments,positive or negative
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 09:28 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Of course a clean windows install is best, but often times you can swap the motherboard without much issue, even successful cross brand(AMD->Intel) swap aren't unheard of.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old April 1, 2009, 09:32 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,987

My System Specs

Default

I just helped my buddy switch motherboards from p35 to p45 and he's using the same install of windows no problems yet.
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Swap similar motherboards JD Troubleshooting 8 March 11, 2009 06:28 PM
Motherboard rev?? bstring CPU's and Motherboards 2 January 12, 2008 02:55 PM
Motherboard and CPU help please vintank CPU's and Motherboards 0 January 8, 2008 09:13 PM
Notebook LCD Swap Stinger Display Units 0 October 6, 2007 07:14 PM
Motherboard swap & FC5 Perrin49 O/S's, Drivers & General Software 4 January 31, 2007 04:10 PM