Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 05:51 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Victoria, B.C
Posts: 50
Default i7 920 temps

Just wondering if the temps I'm getting are some what high. my 920 is running at 3.0ghz @ stock vcore. After about 15 mins of prime95 i get 67-66-65-63 on the cores. This is with Thermalright Ultra 120 extreme. This is also with a new application of as5, so I'm hoping temps will drop a bit with time.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 08:53 AM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,987

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SynCroNiz3 View Post
Just wondering if the temps I'm getting are some what high. my 920 is running at 3.0ghz @ stock vcore. After about 15 mins of prime95 i get 67-66-65-63 on the cores. This is with Thermalright Ultra 120 extreme. This is also with a new application of as5, so I'm hoping temps will drop a bit with time.
By stock Vcore.. what do you mean? lol. 1.1v?

They should be lower than that... I get those temps with HT on at 3.8GHz and 1.3v with that same cooler.
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 08:56 AM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Yeah, what Jake said. I'm getting the same load temps as you, with 1.2V @ 3.6. I'm using an Ultima-90 though.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 11:03 AM
rjbarker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Courtenay, B.C
Posts: 5,932

My System Specs

Default

Those are warm...should be around Upper 30's with vReg around 48 - 51C at those Clocks at Idle. Those Temps I stated are around Max for idle at your Clocks.

Actually just re-read your Post and those are P95 Temps under load correct...? I wouldn't sweat it too much:
1. What are your Room Temps and Temp within your Case.
2. What are your Idle Temps
3. What is your vreg Temp

Your "Stock Voltage" on your Vcore could be similar to many whereby BIOS sets it to around 1.28v...you'll find at 3 Ghzyou should be able to drop this down signiificantly and lower Temps.
That "Auto" vCore is why so many folks can OC this Chip on "Auto" up to as high as 3.6 - 3.8 Ghz without changing vCore.
__________________
Introducing me n my OCD to Watercooling, is like taking an Alcoholic to an "all you can drink" Beach Bar in Mexico

.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 11:31 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Victoria, B.C
Posts: 50
Default

The stock vcore is at 1.312v at idle. I'm using Realtemp, not sure if thats the best program to be using to monitor the temps. Not to sure what my room or case temp is, is their a program I can use to see it??. Hmmmm I just came across something, in speedfan is says my cores are 54-54-54-52-52, but in realtemp its giving me 70-67-67-65(this is on load btw). Not sure which was is giving me correct readings. I've also tried reapplying as5, and using different thermal compound, but still same results. Also where can i monitor vreg temp??. Thanks for the help guys = ).
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 21, 2009, 11:36 PM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,987

My System Specs

Default

I use realtemp and it works great... Try using coretemp. That sounds unusually high.. Do you have any fans on the T.R.U.E?
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 11:28 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Deep River Ont/Omaha NE
Posts: 166

My System Specs

Default

RealTemp or CoreTemp are the two that I trust. Like everyone else, your temps seem to be way to high. Did you lap the true and as Jake already asked; do you have any fans on the true?
__________________







Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 08:00 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Victoria, B.C
Posts: 50
Default

I think I solved the problem :P. I returned my cpu to stock, and the vcore went from 1.312, to 1.168. Then I ran prime95 stress test to maximum heat, and it only went to 55-54-54-51(sound normal for stock??). So i guess if I'm gonna overclock don't leave the vcore on auto lol.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 08:29 PM
Sagath's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Petawawa, ON
Posts: 2,586

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rjbarker View Post
Your "Stock Voltage" on your Vcore could be similar to many whereby BIOS sets it to around 1.28v...you'll find at 3 Ghzyou should be able to drop this down signiificantly and lower Temps.
That "Auto" vCore is why so many folks can OC this Chip on "Auto" up to as high as 3.6 - 3.8 Ghz without changing vCore.


Post #4 Man. You should probably fully read the posts when people are trying to help you, instead of just skimming and 'thinking' you got all the info
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lpfan4ever View Post
AKG shot the hamsters, and then Perineum drove his Mustang with summer tires into the server.
My Disclaimer to any advice or comment I make;
Quote:
Originally Posted by CroSsFiRe2009 View Post
I'm a self certified whizbang repair technician with 20 years of professional bullshit so I don't know what I'm talking about
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old March 23, 2009, 08:51 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sagath View Post

Post #4 Man. You should probably fully read the posts when people are trying to help you, instead of just skimming and 'thinking' you got all the info
What are you talking about? Do you have your view settings on to show newest post first(instead of oldest post first) or what? Because from what I'm reading rjbarker's suggestion solved his issue, that and his(rj's) post IS post #4...
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 temps gingerbee Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 March 9, 2009 10:02 AM
Are these temps right? overlords Air Cooling 15 January 18, 2009 04:10 PM
CPU temps vs Core temps sloth CPU's and Motherboards 13 October 19, 2008 01:34 PM
temps Kassela Troubleshooting 7 March 13, 2008 03:46 PM
GPU temps Infiniti Water Cooling 1 December 23, 2007 10:10 AM