Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 07:24 PM
bojangles's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Oakville, ON
Posts: 2,684

My System Specs

Default

For some crazy reason I ad a similar problem, but my HDD was the issue. It was terribly damaged somehow and every time I would boot the computer it would freeze when it checked the SATA ports during POST. I bought a Raptor and it solved my problems...

Try a different HDD as well. Perhaps there's something wrong with that.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 07:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Default

That's another reason I might think it"s the CPU. It gets high temps in idle and it won't let me overclock it. This motherboard is brand new and I had the same prob with my last board which also was fairly new. So that"s why i don't think it's the motherboard or cmos prob.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 08:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Default

I already tried 2 other hard drives with the same results and my hard drive works on my wife's computer as well. I'm going to do a test outside the case tomorrow and see what happens and go from there.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 08:10 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Using the stock cooler? sometimes the stock cooler will bend the board so much that it will cause boot issues...try reseating the cpu.
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old March 17, 2009, 10:02 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Actually I'm not using a stock cooler but it does give me an idea. Maybe it is bending the board like you say.I'll look into it. But then again how does it explain that I have to reset cmos to get it to boot after i turn it off and on again?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
i7 Build help reduce $ without loss k4kman New Builds 10 March 11, 2009 01:57 PM
AMD reports another hefty loss: $358 million in Q1 stoanee Press Releases & Tech News 2 April 17, 2008 05:39 PM
How much fps loss kcksteve O/S's, Drivers & General Software 8 September 25, 2007 03:54 PM