Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 11:38 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default GA-MA770-DS3: Works with Phenom II X3 720?

I am jonesing to upgrade something and I'd love to go triple or quad core. The X3 720 looks like a sweet price/performance spot for me. But I am not sure if my MB takes AM3. The specs I got with my MB say AM2+/AM2 like this one on newegg.

According to Gigabyte the latest version of my MB is AM3 compatible, but I can't seem to find any info if a Bios flash will get my MB AM3 compliant. I think the difference between Rev 1.0 & Rev 2.0 is SB600 vs SB700. I have to check which one I have as I am not sure. Can anyone help? Thanks :)

GIGABYTE - Product - Motherboard - Overview - GA-MA770-DS3 (rev. 2.0)
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 04:58 PM
sa seba's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 280

My System Specs

Default

Rev 1 and 2 both support AM3 Phenoms:
Rev 1 with the F7 bios,
Rev 2 with bios FB.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 5, 2009, 08:47 PM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

Awesome thanks for the help! Is there a big difference between running the SB600 vs SB700 with a Phenom II?

Edit: I just checked I have Rev 1.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 12:39 AM
sa seba's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 280

My System Specs

Default

That depends on if you want to overclock and if, how much.
You should be ok, although you should probably not plan on getting record oc's out of this board. (only little cpu voltage increase)
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 6, 2009, 07:20 AM
Thund3rball's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,526

My System Specs

Default

I am not a very aggressive OC'er so no worries there. Instead of a new board I'd rather put money on 4-6GB of some good Ram and a 64bit OS, but I will probably wait for Win7. I'd be really happy if that X3 went on sale for about $150. Nonetheless it will have to wait till next month as I just took advantage of that crazy Dell sale on 22" IPS monitors. Thanks for your help.
__________________
"this is not troll. this is real deal!" - hohohee

Desktop:
See the drop down!

Laptop: Dell XPS M1530 \\ T7500 2.2GHz \\ 3GB 667 \\ 6 Cell \\ 8600M GT \\ 200GB 7.2K \\ WSXGA+ \\ Bluetooth/Wireless \\ MS Blue Track Mini \\ Vista Ult. (RED)


HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HD4890 In The Works Moneyless Rumor Mill 20 February 22, 2009 03:07 PM
any power chord on PSU works fine? g3p3nk Power Supplies 5 August 14, 2008 02:40 PM
I wonder if this works with Ready Boost... Cardboard box with DSL O/S's, Drivers & General Software 5 July 1, 2007 01:11 AM
AMD prepares its Phenom FX, Phenom X4 and Phenom X2 lineups Babrbarossa Press Releases & Tech News 1 May 4, 2007 07:38 AM