Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #21 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 09:39 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

Apop can kiss my butt. Legit and I have a history, and not a good one.


AMD is catering to US...DIY'ers...buy a BE chip, maybe get a fourth core, maybe not, maybe get 4ghz, maybe not...luck of the draw.


AMD IS BACK!!!







SKYMTL said thier marketing dept is a bit lacking on the ATI side as of late...which seems true...but this will spread like wildfire through the DIY community...they don't need to market...

I still want them sending in cards for review though.
Reply With Quote
  #22 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 09:42 PM
arekieh's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 819
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca View Post
Apop can kiss my butt. Legit and I have a history, and not a good one.


AMD is catering to US...DIY'ers...buy a BE chip, maybe get a fourth core, maybe not, maybe get 4ghz, maybe not...luck of the draw.


AMD IS BACK!!!







SKYMTL said thier marketing dept is a bit lacking on the ATI side as of late...which seems true...but this will spread like wildfire through the DIY community...they don't need to market...

I still want them sending in cards for review though.
lol, this is pissing me off. I guess ill just have to ditch amd overdrive and overclock in bios. Only thing that pisses me off is i got not temp monitoring on load :O. what to do what to do
__________________
Mobo: Asus P6T Deluxe | CPU: i7 940 | Ram: 3x2 GB | HSF: CM V8 | GPU: HD 6950 | PSU: PCP&C 750W | ]HDD: WD 500gb x3, 120GB Vertex 2 | Case: Antec 1200 | Monitor: 3x Asus VE247H | OS: Win7 Ultimate x64
My Trading Rep:
HWC
OCN
Heat
Ebay

Reply With Quote
  #23 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 09:46 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,635

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca View Post
Apop can kiss my butt. Legit and I have a history, and not a good one.


AMD is catering to US...DIY'ers...buy a BE chip, maybe get a fourth core, maybe not, maybe get 4ghz, maybe not...luck of the draw.


AMD IS BACK!!!







SKYMTL said thier marketing dept is a bit lacking on the ATI side as of late...which seems true...but this will spread like wildfire through the DIY community...they don't need to market...

I still want them sending in cards for review though.
Don't be so mean to Apop lol. He basically has everything working, but Vista and CPU-Z doesn't seem to register the 4th core while everything else does...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #24 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 10:06 PM
arekieh's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 819
Default

i dunno how he got amd overdrive to recognize it :/
__________________
Mobo: Asus P6T Deluxe | CPU: i7 940 | Ram: 3x2 GB | HSF: CM V8 | GPU: HD 6950 | PSU: PCP&C 750W | ]HDD: WD 500gb x3, 120GB Vertex 2 | Case: Antec 1200 | Monitor: 3x Asus VE247H | OS: Win7 Ultimate x64
My Trading Rep:
HWC
OCN
Heat
Ebay

Reply With Quote
  #25 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 11:28 PM
sa seba's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 280

My System Specs

Default

Which bios version are you using, arekieh?

Good luck with the exam

Last edited by sa seba; March 2, 2009 at 11:34 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #26 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 11:56 PM
arekieh's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 819
Default

Bios Version F1. Its still the only one released i think.

Thanks, its bio :) should be easy.
__________________
Mobo: Asus P6T Deluxe | CPU: i7 940 | Ram: 3x2 GB | HSF: CM V8 | GPU: HD 6950 | PSU: PCP&C 750W | ]HDD: WD 500gb x3, 120GB Vertex 2 | Case: Antec 1200 | Monitor: 3x Asus VE247H | OS: Win7 Ultimate x64
My Trading Rep:
HWC
OCN
Heat
Ebay

Reply With Quote
  #27 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2009, 12:54 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default

Salam arekieh,

I was just wondering how many SATA cables came with the motherboard and what did you end up doing with 4th core/overclocking/temps reading?

I am going to be buying this MB soon, and I will appreciate your opinion about it.

Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #28 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2009, 02:43 PM
MacJunky's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Creston, BC
Posts: 1,743

My System Specs

Default

The number of SATA cables should be listed on the board's product page.. and even if not, NCIX sometimes has SATA cables on sale for $0.99 so just grab a few of them.
Reply With Quote
  #29 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2009, 02:45 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,785

My System Specs

Default

Hot damn!!!!

Forget the OC for now... I wanna see some multi-core # crunching with 3 and then 4 cores!!!!!!
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / Seagate Barracuda 1TB
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 250G Samsung 840 Series SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #30 (permalink)  
Old March 28, 2009, 04:35 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Regina SK
Posts: 14
Default

Hey guys!

Good to see some more 720 users. :)

I bought not to long ago the MA790FXT UD5P and a 720 BE. I got the 4th core unlocked and running with just alittle bios flash. Been working at 3700 on 4 cores now for awhile now, with no major problems. I havent do any test to see how stable she is, only played some games for long periods of time. So far the highest I had it up to was 3800, but somewhere around 3600 you have to start pumping alot of juice to her to get
running right. Right now Im taking my time and playing with upping the NB. I only have that at 2200 right now. Some guys are getting theres up to about 2800, so I got more tweaking to do. :) Then its on to playig with the ram.

cheers
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
x3 720BE drops to $150. upcoast604 CPU's and Motherboards 5 March 2, 2009 07:24 PM
Deltas have arrived at NCIX! death_hawk Air Cooling 14 August 26, 2008 01:03 AM
WooHoo it has arrived Beermaster Cases 32 April 17, 2007 10:26 AM