Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2009, 05:45 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
Default Marvell vs Realtek ethernet controller

Hi All,

I had to reformat my system a few days ago and for some reason this time I am having a conflict with Marvel Yukon 88E8056 and Realtek RTL8169 Controllers on my P5E3 Deluxe Motherboarrd. I am getting the popup that one is unplugged.
Is there any difference in these?
Which one is the best to use for speed?
I read the mobo manual and it seems like I can disable either of them in the BIOS.
In the Device Manager both are good with no yellow mark to indicate trouble.

thanks
TheRock
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2009, 10:13 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Montreal
Posts: 53

My System Specs

Default

Well, if no RJ-45 cable is plugged in, any ethernet controller will tell you that it's unplugged...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2009, 10:52 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Thank you for your reply.

Yes I understand that. I don't understand why it would happen this time and now the other times also.
And I was hoping to find out if either one had any advantages over the other.
I tried to google it and did not get a clear answer.

thanks
TheRock
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old March 1, 2009, 03:15 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,959

My System Specs

Default

I don't think either has better performance. Use whichever you prefer.

IMO Marvell is more network-oriented than Realtek (mainly known for onboard sound).
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 05:21 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 7
Default

Thank you for your reply.
I will continue using Realtek considering I never removed the RJ-45 at all. I do not need onboard sound so that will be fine. It just bugged me as to why this happened on a reformat and fresh install...:)


Thanks again
TheRock
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old March 2, 2009, 07:46 AM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,959

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheRock View Post
Thank you for your reply.
I will continue using Realtek considering I never removed the RJ-45 at all. I do not need onboard sound so that will be fine. It just bugged me as to why this happened on a reformat and fresh install...:)


Thanks again
TheRock
Maybe you had the icon hidden before? Easiest way is to just disable the one you don't use. I'd disable it from Device Manager though so that you could re-enable it easily should you ever need it since going into the BIOS is more time consuming.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
on board Realtek ALC888 vs Audigy 2zs Halestorm Audio 4 February 22, 2009 01:36 PM
Question about Realtek sound lyned Troubleshooting 6 January 25, 2009 05:23 AM
Gigabyte P45-DQ6 has four Ethernet ports Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 3 May 7, 2008 09:10 AM
SATA-3G HDD with Marvell controller!!! francois methot Storage 2 August 23, 2007 02:16 PM
Rear Channel on Realtek HD? sswilson Audio 8 July 25, 2007 02:07 PM