Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 11:29 PM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 304

My System Specs

Default 775 Mobo using ddr2 or ddr3???

Any recomendations?

My brother wants a new Mobo. He would like 6 sata ports if possible (but he could make due with 4). He would also like SLI / crossfire support.

He wants to use his current hardware, yet keep his upgrading options open, and cost effective.


Thanks


Matty
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 25, 2009, 05:09 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,728

My System Specs

Default

Does he already have decent DDR2? If yes, AFAIC it's a no-brainer to stay with that if he's going S775. He won't see much benefit to going DDR3 and they're still quite pricey when compared to DDR2.

I've been quite happy with my P5Qpro (8 SATA), but that's in the upper/mid price range. Gigabyte has some good P45 offerings as well.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i7 4770K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2009, 01:51 AM
mattydies's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa Valley, Ontario
Posts: 304

My System Specs

Default

I realize my question was not as clear as it should have been.

Are there any motherboards which can use either ddr2 or ddr3 on the same board? So he can use his ddr2 for now, but when he wants to buy ddr3 (down the road) he can use the same motherboard.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 27, 2009, 01:57 AM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,658
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mattydies View Post
I realize my question was not as clear as it should have been.

Are there any motherboards which can use either ddr2 or ddr3 on the same board? So he can use his ddr2 for now, but when he wants to buy ddr3 (down the road) he can use the same motherboard.
There is but its not worth it.

DDR3 + 775 != good
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
[WTB] WTB: AM2 or AM2+ mobo and ddr2 ram Table21 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 February 3, 2009 12:29 PM
Need some advice on new MOBO for DDR3 that I won on this site bushwickbill New Builds 0 August 28, 2008 10:51 PM
WTB: c2d e2160 cpu, skt 775 mobo, 2x1gb DDR2 ram, Asus eee pc hamhead Buy/Sell & Trade 0 March 30, 2008 09:35 PM
ASUS P5E3 Mobo X38 and DDR3 is @ Tweaktown! SKYMTL Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 September 25, 2007 07:22 AM
DDR3 vs DDR2: Anandtech Babrbarossa Reviews & Articles from the Web 0 May 16, 2007 09:12 AM