Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 03:06 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default HyperThreading

I have a Xeon 3110 chip (pretty good oc)
Should i enable HyperThreading On my msi board?
Will this show any improvements?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 03:26 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,622

My System Specs

Default

Isn't the Xeon 3110 the same as a E8400? If it is, enabling HyperThreading won't do anything.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 03:34 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

yupp i think its pretty much the same as a 8400 justy runs a little cooler:)
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 03:35 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

is that E7200 chip faster than a 8400?
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 03:35 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,575
Default

What board do you have? I've only seen 2 diff boards with hyperthreading... old boards that were designed for P4s and the new X58s.

Either way.. Hyperthreading won't do anything as your processor doesn't have it.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 03:36 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Msi P35 Neo2:)
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 09:46 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,071

My System Specs

Default

You can enable it on your mobo, but if your CPU doesn't support it, there will be no effect. IIRC, the last HT enabled chips before the i7 920 were the P4 3.4Ghz CPU's.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 24, 2009, 11:43 PM
1Tanker's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 1,170
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
You can enable it on your mobo, but if your CPU doesn't support it, there will be no effect. IIRC, the last HT enabled chips before the i7 920 were the P4 3.4Ghz CPU's.
The P4's(most) had HT right up to the 67x 3.8GHz models.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hyperthreading Mode (Core i7 920) makes it run hotter appplejack CPU's and Motherboards 4 January 11, 2009 12:44 AM