Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old June 3, 2007, 07:05 AM
Top Prospect
F@H

Red face another "New System" thread

let's try this again. after a rather long winded post on a previous thread i realized i wasn't logged in
i'll cut to the short version. i have,
-ANTEC 900 chassis
-ENERMAX GALAXY 1000 watt psu
-Coolit FREEZONE cpu cooler
-2x WD RAPTOR 150 gb
now, i was sold on the Striker mobo, but so many horror stories. price(don't care if it'll be worth it), not posting, bios updating, ram issues...
now, i'm seeing more and more ppl touting the EVGA 680i mobo's.
i'm not looking for any excessive hair pulling. this is my first attempt at a build and i'm as green as they come
looking for some guidance without too many choices to choose from. that's where it get's overwhelming and i'll just get lost.
i don't know anything about oc'ing, but i wouldn't mind being able to do some modest tweaking to get that little "extra". (hint hint)
will prolly go with an 8800 gtx for now, but want the expandability for future sli.
looking to go quad core, just because it's there and i don't want to be looking at another proc in 2 yrs time.
as for ram, ugh, soo much sifting.i get that lower #'s is better, but what is better for me?
like i said, for gaming, not working, and the occassional looking at of things i shouldn't be looking at on-line

any and all comments /suggestions. thnx in advance guys
Old June 3, 2007, 07:14 AM
Quadfather

My System Specs

For the video card id reccommend an eVGA - just in case some new amazing vid card comes out in the next 3 months you can trade in your old one in and get credit for it (Full Credit if in good condition!!!) towards your newer card. Hope it helps!
Old June 3, 2007, 07:38 AM
Top Prospect
F@H

not to mention the probable lack of incompatibility if i go with the evga 680i mobo. just trying to find comparisons now between that and the Striker mobo.
thnx