Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 07:11 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
Red face LGA 775 - Compatibility Question; Yes:No Answer

Alright, its my time to upgrade my computer is 5 years old, please hold back laughter while reading this

Its a Dell. LOL.

Okay got that out of the way, so CPU-Z says:

Name: Intel Pentium 4 530
Codename: Prescott
Specification: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 3.00GHz
Package Socket: 775 LGA (platform ID = 4h)
Technology: 90 nm
Core Speed: 2992.6 MHz (15.0 x 199.5 MHz)
Rated Bus speed: 798.0 MHz

Im completely clueless as to what I can upgrade to, I know these newer Core 2 Duos are LGA775 but will they work on my OEM Motherboard (Dell)

So in short, can I use newer processors on my old motherboard?

A simple yes or no will suffice and this thread will go away. Thank you for taking the time.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 07:17 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

From a single Core chip to a dual Core chip? I don't think so.

You can always look on the board, find the part number and do some research for CPU compatibility.
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 07:21 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

I say no, as Core2 cpus have different VRM requirements than the older netburst stuff. For example, early BadAxe D975X boards DID NOT support Core2..board revision 304 was the first if I remember correctly.

Secondly, you'd need a recent bios with support of the cpu, so that would be the first thing to check...if Dell doesn't host a bios after, like, September 2006, I think you're probably SOL.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 07:25 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Okay thanks, so basically this sucks as I have no money for a new MB+CPU+PSU.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 07:27 PM
3.0charlie's Avatar
3.0 "I kill SR2's" Charlie
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 9,643

My System Specs

Default

Buy used? You should find all you need in the FS sub-forum...
__________________
Hydro-Quebec is salivating...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 07:34 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,903

My System Specs

Default

I'm going to say no.

It might even be running on DDR RAM too...

So if you want to "upgrade" you're basically going to have to start from scratch since a Dell case won't be of any use.

ANYTHING you buy from a big-box store would be faster than what you have IMO. Even those like $400 PCs.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 13, 2009, 12:35 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 8
Default

Its Dual Channel RAM, I upgraded to 2GB OCZ Platinum a couple months ago and thought about my single core P4 Prescott being bottleneck in gaming these days.

I am putting a HD 4670 in soon, I researched this part and saw that it ran fine on 305 watt PSUs, the reason for the 4670 is that it needs no 6-pin PCI-E connector, it draws power from the bus, and at just over $100 its not bad...

The only thing I dont like about the reviews/benchmarks of the HD 4670 is that all of the test setups/systems use overclocked quads and such lol, so I'm not expecting anything great in terms of performance boost...just anything better than my Radeon X300se ya know Im sure will be great. Im not a diehard Oc'er or gamer, just something to go 50+ with medium settings and Im happy.

Anyway thanks guys
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ati Crossfire compatibility PaxeSalute Video Cards 7 March 28, 2008 06:07 PM
Please Help~answer the questions> < dracozhu Troubleshooting 6 March 8, 2008 02:17 PM
Finally! Apple's answer to all those grandmothers wanting to browse the internet! MacJunky Press Releases & Tech News 8 February 5, 2008 03:43 PM
answer this Rapid-X Storage 4 September 27, 2007 07:33 PM
lol answer this Rapid-X RAM 4 May 31, 2007 04:16 AM