Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 04:31 PM
vulcan500rider's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 498

My System Specs

Default Emulator box - Dual Core Atom 330

Hi all!

I'm considering putting together an emulator box based around this Atom/Motherboard, with 1GB RAM: NCIX.com - Buy Intel BOXD945GCLF2 MINI-ITX DDR2 945GC Dual Core Atom 1PCI Motherboard Retail - BOXD945GCLF2 In Canada.

It has a GMA 950 built in, which I was planning on using as the sole GPU.

Is there any reason that this system might not be sufficient for NES, SNES, Genesis, and perhaps even N64 emulation?

Also, can anyone suggest a small PSU to power this? All it would have to handle is the mobo/cpu, DVD drive, and a single HD.


Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 04:34 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,592
Default

nes, snes, and genesis will be fine. But N64 not a hope.

Even a top end system like mine cannot properly play N64 at a decent speed.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 04:55 PM
vulcan500rider's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 498

My System Specs

Default

Really? I had it running on my Opteron 165 without too much of a problem...Which emulator were you using?

That said, I suspect you're right about the Atom and the N64 emu...<sigh> Oh well. Even NES, SNES, and Gen will be a pretty good start.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 04:58 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,925

My System Specs

Default

On my old Q6600 at stock I had no problem running N64 games with even AA and it was always above 60FPS. On a side note I really recommend getting the premier partnership at NCIX. Especially if you buy a lot of stuff. One item I saved $100 (although could price match to save $50 so one item was 1/3 of the partnership)
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."

Last edited by belgolas; February 10, 2009 at 05:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 05:53 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,055

My System Specs

Default

I'm just wondering but why would a Atom not work fine? I'll admit I have only been playing with the nes, snes emulators but I took a look and found project64 for the N64 and its requirements seem low enough:
  • Pentium III 600 Mhz or better
  • 128 Mb. RAM or more
  • Fast video card with 16 Mb. Video RAM or more
  • Windows 95/98/Me
  • DirectX 6.0 (latest version of DirectX recommended
So really I'm not sure why it would not work. And then you can use something like Mamewah as a frontend that can switch in between the different emulators.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."


Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 06:06 PM
vulcan500rider's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 498

My System Specs

Default

Thanks, Begolas; I was a premier partner once upon a time, but I find I'm just not ordering as much from there anymore...I really just don't have the cash.

Thanks to you too, ipaine. I guess I should have probably just looked up the requirements for project64, but my bigger problem is that I just don't know what the atom cpu/gpu combo is capable of. I think it's a 1.6ghz clock speed, but that never tells the entire story, does it? I've also heard that it's equivalent to a Pentium M, but again that means fairly little to me; I haven't been able to find anything that compares it to either an Athalon 64, or a C2D, which are the two most recent processor types I've worked with. That said, I guess it doesn't really matter too much--if it doesn't play N64 games, I'm not that fussed, and if it does, I guess it's a bonus...As long as it plays the other emus, I'm happy.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 07:27 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas Ontario close to london
Posts: 3,925

My System Specs

Default

I would guess that atom dual core should be more then enough for N64.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 07:32 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,891

My System Specs

Default

I think a dual core Atom would be plenty...

My mom's netbook (single core Atom) can run 720p MKV video just fine which I'm guessing is more demanding than N64.

If you really want to be safe, put the emulator + rom onto a USB drive and head down to a store that has netbooks on display. Run it and see, if it works on a single core atom, the dual will be perfectly fine.
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 07:33 PM
ipaine's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 2,055

My System Specs

Default

hmmm, you know what you want a answer I can find out for you. I have a eeePC with the atom in it. I will put project64 on it and see how it plays super smash brothers.



edit: Ok I have put it onto the eeepc and it runs, just not very good. Ok well it runs ok but the fps drops from the nice 60 down to about 30-35 in the heavy action stuff. But there is one thing I must stress that eeepc only has a intel 945 for graphics and it is running vista.

So that said I would say that chances are you will be fine with an Atom (just) as long as you are not running vista with it. I also noticed that the board you linked to had the Atom 330 while I have the N270, they are both 1.6GHz but the 330 has 1M of cache while I only have 512K.
__________________
"Nothing sucks more than that moment during an argument when you realize you're wrong."



Last edited by ipaine; February 10, 2009 at 08:15 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 10, 2009, 08:40 PM
vulcan500rider's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Regina, SK
Posts: 498

My System Specs

Default

Wow! Thanks for that, ipaine! If these forums worked that way, I would be rating you a 5! <laugh> I much appreciate the effort. I guess the only question I have left is about the PSU, but maybe I should just post that in the PSU forum...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
WTB/WTT: LGA775 Quad Core/Dual Core Chilly Buy/Sell & Trade 7 November 10, 2008 11:46 PM
64 bit necessary with a dual core? D4ng3r O/S's, Drivers & General Software 11 November 2, 2008 05:36 PM
ps2 emulator cmac79 Gaming 9 May 8, 2008 10:03 AM
FS - Intel Core 2 Duo E6600 Dual Core Processor LGA775 Conroe 2.40GHZ 1066FSB 4MB L2 pat767 Buy/Sell & Trade 0 January 22, 2008 09:00 AM