Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2009, 03:05 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default Memory settings in bios

Ive got an asus m3a79-2 and my ram is ocz 1000mhz platinum with 5-5-5-18 timings. It was only running at 800mhz even with my new phenom so i went in and the only options for memory speed are either 800 or 1067 mhz, i put it tp 1067 just to see if it would work and now the clocks are set to 5-7-7-24 which seems like crap lol. Would increasing the voltage to the ram lower the timings? or is there a way to actually set it to 1000mhz with this board?
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2009, 03:08 PM
Banned
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,628
Default

1000mhz requires a different FSB speed...either higher, FSB, with a lower ram divider, or lower FSB to have the 1066 go down to 1000.

Manually set the timings and it shouldn't be an issue tohugh..but I suspect you cannot, or something?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2009, 03:32 PM
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Belleville, Ontario
Posts: 559
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cadaveca View Post
1000mhz requires a different FSB speed...either higher, FSB, with a lower ram divider, or lower FSB to have the 1066 go down to 1000.

Manually set the timings and it shouldn't be an issue tohugh..but I suspect you cannot, or something?
hmm well ive never changed any ram settings before lol. Reading the reviews for it though it can run at 1067 with 2.2v and 5-7-7-20 timings so thats what ive got it set to for now

according to one review they say it can also run at 4-4-4 at 800mhz, would that be 4-4-4-12 or 4-4-4-15? and either way which would give better performance results?
__________________
Case: HAF 932
CPU: AMD Phenom II 940 3.5ghz w/ OCZ Vendetta 2 Cooler
PSU: OCZ StealthXstream 600w
Mobo: ASUS M3A79-T Deluxe
Memory: 4gb OCZ Platinum 1000mhz ddr2
Graphics: 2x Sapphire 4830s in Crossfire
Keyboard: Logitech G11
Mouse: Logitech G9
HD:WD 640gb Caviar Black + 750gb Seagate
#hardwarecanucks on irc.enterthegame.com
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Please expert help fo bios settings evzonas RAM 2 August 6, 2008 05:01 PM
780i Bios settings help please Quetz Troubleshooting 17 April 27, 2008 02:23 PM
Voltage settings in Maximus Formula bios? sswilson CPU's and Motherboards 6 April 13, 2008 11:39 AM
argh, anyone know why my DS3L wont save any BIOS settings? donimo Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 19 January 19, 2008 10:41 AM
Bios saves OC settings, loads stock speed Mr. Cipher Troubleshooting 3 November 8, 2007 02:09 PM