Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 03:22 PM
Snafu's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 175
Question E8400 temp weirdness

My core temps are reading significantly different values and wondered if anyone has a similar experience and hopefully a fix. I am dying for a fix because I don't feel comfortable overclocking this system until I know what are the real temps.

My system is basically:
  • Intel E8400
  • Gigabyte EP35-DS3P
  • OCZ PC2-9200 Reapers
  • Seagate 3GB/s HDD
The cpu is water cooled with 120x240 and 120x120 rads.

I flashed to the latest bios (F6a) and found that the temperatures (per Speed Fan) were pretty much the same – still out of whack. This was confirmed with Real Temp.

I tried the calibration approach used for Real Temp by dropping the core speed to 1.6GHz (6x266) and core voltage to 1.10v. The temp readings were 46/20 at idle (water cooled and RT at 18C).

Reset the core speed to normal 3.0GHz (9x333) and core voltage set to “normal”. Idle temps were the same (45/20) as the core running at 1.6GHz. The load temps were 51/33 as seen in Real Temp after running Orthos.

So the bios update did not fix the temperature readings and trying to recalibrate Real Temp won’t work.

Anyone run into similar out of whack readings and heard of a fix?

Thanks
__________________
Newest system: Intel E8400, Gigabyte EP35-DS3P, OCZ PC2-9200 Reapers, Seagate 3GB/s HDD, etc.
Others are kicking around the house.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 04:01 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,527

My System Specs

Default

Sounds like a stuck sensor... does the high# move at all when you put a load on the cpu? (edit... I see it moves a bit, but certainly not in line with the second core)

I'd try cycling between load/no load as long as your temp doesn't go above 65c.

If that doesn't fix it, I wonder if one of the cores isn't in proper contact with the IHS.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 04:34 PM
Snafu's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 175
Default

I will give the load/no load a try (letting it run for a few hours).

As for improper contact, it is possible but I originally had a noctua cooler on it and replaced it twice (thinking the same thing) to no avail and now I have the water block on. I can try to reseat the water block.

In the meantime other ideas or experiences are welcomed.

EDIT: anyone seen a naked e8400 (without the heat shield)? I am curious to know the orientation of the chips.
__________________
Newest system: Intel E8400, Gigabyte EP35-DS3P, OCZ PC2-9200 Reapers, Seagate 3GB/s HDD, etc.
Others are kicking around the house.

Last edited by Snafu; February 1, 2009 at 04:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 04:59 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,527

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snafu View Post
I will give the load/no load a try (letting it run for a few hours).

As for improper contact, it is possible but I originally had a noctua cooler on it and replaced it twice (thinking the same thing) to no avail and now I have the water block on. I can try to reseat the water block.

In the meantime other ideas or experiences are welcomed.

EDIT: anyone seen a naked e8400 (without the heat shield)? I am curious to know the orientation of the chips.
I wasn't thinking of the cooler, I'm thinking it might be the IHS covering the "naked" cores.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 05:08 PM
Snafu's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 175
Default

Good point. I might be forced to pull the cover off and see if I can solve the problem.
__________________
Newest system: Intel E8400, Gigabyte EP35-DS3P, OCZ PC2-9200 Reapers, Seagate 3GB/s HDD, etc.
Others are kicking around the house.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 05:10 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,527

My System Specs

Default

Heh.... I'd check into Warranty possibilities before I went that far.... :) Normally a split wouldn't be something that they'd RMA for, but that's a huge split, and the fact that it isn't completely stuck makes me wonder.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 05:15 PM
Snafu's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 175
Default

Good point. I wasn't really thinking of warranty (usually don't before tearing into some hardware - lol).

I am going to give it a try and see what they say (no harm no foul) and if they won't I will be pulling it apart.
__________________
Newest system: Intel E8400, Gigabyte EP35-DS3P, OCZ PC2-9200 Reapers, Seagate 3GB/s HDD, etc.
Others are kicking around the house.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 07:22 PM
sabermetrics's Avatar
Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 42
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snafu View Post
Good point. I wasn't really thinking of warranty (usually don't before tearing into some hardware - lol).

I am going to give it a try and see what they say (no harm no foul) and if they won't I will be pulling it apart.
If you are going to take the IHS off, I'm 100% sure Intel will not cover your warranty...

I've seen people RMA chips due to stuck sensors, so if you don't mind waiting and you really want the temperature sensors to work, I would suggest just to send it back to Intel and get a new chip


Have you tried Real Temp and using the temperature sensor check just to make sure its a stuck sensor?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 08:10 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 143
Default

Do you have your videocard in the WC loop? If so, is it first in the loop? If it is, make it the second processor to be cooled, you may see temps go down...
Yeah its unnatural... My e3110 (server ed. of 8400) is running at 50 degrees under full load @ 4ghz... on air O_o..
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 1, 2009, 08:33 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,527

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by D4ng3r View Post
Do you have your videocard in the WC loop? If so, is it first in the loop? If it is, make it the second processor to be cooled, you may see temps go down...
Yeah its unnatural... My e3110 (server ed. of 8400) is running at 50 degrees under full load @ 4ghz... on air O_o..
If I'm reading it right, he had the same kind of split when he was on air, so I doubt it's the loop.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E8400 - Core Temps Lower than CPU Temp Capt Proton Water Cooling 0 January 25, 2009 02:32 AM
what is normal idle temp for e8400 Shadowmeph Air Cooling 15 December 29, 2008 10:46 PM
Weirdness in Clean Install on Dell Laptop dadzilla Troubleshooting 7 December 25, 2008 12:24 PM
E8400 very high temp on P5Q PRO Friends123 CPU's and Motherboards 21 December 23, 2008 07:24 PM
CPU temp or Core temp? E6420 NOOB Delavan CPU's and Motherboards 18 May 28, 2007 05:07 AM