Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2007, 06:02 PM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Exclamation Need Help With This Configuration

ok i got :
elitegroup C51GM-M BOARD
2 GIG PC4200 BUFALLO SELCT 533MHZ RAM
AMD ATHOLON AM2 X2 DUAL CORE 4600 2.4 PROCESSOR*picking it up friday
40 AND 10 GIG IDE 7500RPM HARDDRIVES
Geforce 7600GT 512M DDR2*picking it up friday

the question is dont laugh guys but how do i install raid drivers and what does it do for me im also waiting on 2 sata2 hardrives waiting to get a deal on sum


*****512 ddr2 pc4200 533mhz ram for Sale******
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2007, 06:04 PM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default Shoot forgot sumthing

do u thing 450 watts will be ok running this sytem?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2007, 06:44 PM
b1lk1's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Lindsay, Ontario
Posts: 2,500

My System Specs

Default

Cheap 450W, no. You need a quality name brand PSU atleast 400W or bigger.

As for raid drivers, you only need to load them if you are running a raid array. So forget about them.
__________________
MY HEATWARE
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2007, 10:08 PM
grinder's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 821

My System Specs

Default

450 is plenty - as mentioned; so long as it's a quality unit (enermax, etc...)

Basic raid controllers let you run in a mirror or stripe configuration. Google for a wiki on the topic for a solid technical explanation on RAID 0 and RAID 1 types. Stripe raids promise huge performance increases but fall drastically short of expectations in real world computing. Mirror raids offer superior protection of your data (MP3's, pictures, etc.) but at a huge performance hit.

This varies from motherboard to motherboard, but if you are using a sata hard drive as a normal hard drive (no raid), more times than not you don't need the raid drivers to use the drive.

If you are running the raid as a storage drive you can install the drivers like any other hardware device on your windows system (piece of cake).

If you are running your raid as your C (windows) drive, you need to have a floppy disk ready with your raid drivers and hit the F6 button (when asked by windows setup while installing a fresh copy of Windows XP) to load the drivers properly. Otherwise you will likely blue screen on your first reboot of your fresh windows install.

Hope this answered most of your questions.
__________________
Phenom II 945 :: ASUS M4A78-E (780G) :: BFG 285GTX :: 4GB Mushkin DDR2 (5-4-4-12) :: Creative Xi-Fi :: Seagate 500 gig 7200.12 (better than WD BLACK!!!!!) :: Samsung 2493HM
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2007, 04:50 AM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default damn

u guys are great , answer me this y is it guys like u guys dont work for microsoft or sumthing?? instead they got guys who got in trought connections and have no clue from their ass to the face working there ..especailly at ati down here in richmond hill, i have 2 agp cards that are broken and they claim that its the catalist drivers messing it up they sent me a program to check the settings on the card and believe it or not they are both busted sumthing with the chipset on them and they still wont believe me that they are dead...

BTW... Thanks Guys
Thermaltake 430watts power supply w/universal 24(20)pin PCI-EX1 PFC SATAX2
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2007, 06:01 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,478

My System Specs

Default

What ati cards do you have that you think are broken, and what are the symptoms?
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2007, 01:38 PM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default

Radeon 9550 256md 4x agp
all in wonder 9600 128mb
blue screen of death with each card plus the onboard card now(rs200). thats y im building a new system dont wanna reformat for the 3rd time this month plus sumthing about ati3d1ag.dll error. any ideas how to fix these ...o yeah the all in wonder i broke off the fan cover to make it run coller runs about -5 degrees cooler than stock.

Last edited by Rapid-X; May 30, 2007 at 01:41 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2007, 09:02 PM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default check out buy and sell

Quote:
Originally Posted by sswilson View Post
What ati cards do you have that you think are broken, and what are the symptoms?

i ahve them and a few stuff listed for sall in the buy/sell as is.orkin as far as i know
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old May 30, 2007, 09:22 PM
Rapid-X's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Ajax
Posts: 332

My System Specs

Default cpu?

ok im looking for a cheap amd am2 cpu preferred over 4600 dual core any ideas were i can get one in ontario or canada with free shipping or sumthing for cheap so far the cheapest i can get is a dual core for $199
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old May 31, 2007, 04:15 AM
cdn_Madrach's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Miramichi, New Brunswick
Posts: 631
Default

They have a few left at Canada Direct on sale.
Amd Athlon 64 X2 4600+ Dual Core Processor Socket AM2 Windsor 2.4GHZ 2X512KB 89W 90NM Retail Box - DirectCanada
__________________
Intel e8400
Asus P5q pro
Mushkin Redline 4gb
Silverstone Strider 1kw modular
4870x2
Ocz Vendetta 2
Top deck Tech Station
Samsung dvd
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Best loop configuration? Cptn Vortex Water Cooling 21 December 8, 2007 11:53 AM