Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 28, 2009, 11:55 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 138
Default Overclocking e8400 on a p5Q pro - a little help

So I recently tried to overclock my cpu without much success. In both attempts, OC failed and I had to revert back to default settings

I have a p5q pro mobo, e8400 wolfy, and corsair xms2 6400 4x1gb

Please bare with me, it's been a while since I OCed something and the Voltage options on the P5Q threw me off as I am sure they are different from some other boards...

Instead of explaining what I did, I'll just list it:
In the AI tweaker menu

CPU Ratio Setting: 9x (max for my CPU)

AI Overclock Tuner: Manual

FSB frequency:
400

FSB strap to northbridge: auto -- I wasn't sure what this did so I left it at auto

PCI frequency: 100

there was another PCI option but I left it at auto

DRAM frequency: -- I wasn't sure what to put here but I knew it was important to change. I ended up choosing the closest frequency to what my RAM is rated for which is 1333. I ended up choosing 1335

DRAM timing control
: -- I tried both manual and auto. In manual I set it to 5-5-5-18-22 which is what my RAM is rated for. Both options resulted in a failed OC.

Voltage

Ok, this is where I got totally lost and didn't know what settings were what. I left everything on auto just to be safe. I knew that it was not necessary to increase the voltage for a successful OC. What threw me off was the fact that there was no clear option that had anything to do with vcore... I'll list what was there:

CPU voltage

FSB termination Voltage

DRAM Voltage

NB

SB

PCIE Sata Voltage


In both instances, the BIOS returned a OC failed message...

Did I do something clearly wrong? What setting(s) should I have changed/not changed?
Can anyone provide me with an explanation of the voltage options?
Any help is appreciated.

Thanks!

Last edited by serenity; January 29, 2009 at 02:00 AM. Reason: new results!
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2009, 08:29 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

Make sure your DRam voltage is set to 2.0 or 2.1, bump your NB a couple of notches because you're running 4 sticks, and your CPU voltage is vCore. Try setting it to 1.3V.

And your dram frequency should be at 800 mhz.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2009, 08:33 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SugarJ View Post
Make sure your DRam voltage is set to 2.0 or 2.1, bump your NB a couple of notches because you're running 4 sticks, and your CPU voltage is vCore. Try setting it to 1.3V.

And your dram frequency should be at 800 mhz.
Yep, yep.......

1333 dram speed is wayyyyy too much for even the highest end DDR2 memory. Try to keep it as close to 800 as possible until you get the cpu OC sorted out. Then you can try to find your max mem OC.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2009, 12:51 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 138
Default

alright thanks for the tips guys!
How about the voltages for SB and PCIE? Leave them at auto?

Also, would it be a good idea to increase the FSB frequency past 400? With the multiplier at 9x, that's already 3.6 ghz
Would it hurt to try 500 or 600?

oh and when you say
Quote:
raise the NB a couple notches
How do I know what my NB voltage default is, it's at auto right now...
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2009, 12:57 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,079

My System Specs

Default

I'd leave SB and PCI-E voltages alone, and only bump them if you can't get the system going at 400 FSB. If it doesn't immediately run at 400, try 380.

And while 400 FSB is usually easily achievable, 500 certainly isn't. If you get it up and going at 400, then bump up 5-10 mhz and try again. Repeat until unstable. Then you have 2 options. 1. Be happy with what you got, or 2. raise vCore and try again.

Edit: To determine your stock NB voltage, check what it reads at stock FSB.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2009, 01:20 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 138
Default

alright cool...

I'll make another post over in the benchmarking section once I get everything up and running the way I want.

Thanks for the great tips sugarj!

Maybe I'll even post a how-to or something. It's time I gave something back to these forums...
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2009, 01:49 PM
geokilla's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,624

My System Specs

Default

Set the PCI-E speed to 101 and the PCI speed to like 33Mhz or something like that. Change the FSB:NB strap to whatever you can in order to obtain the FSB:RAM ratio as 1:1. For voltages, listen to the others and change just the vcore. Everything else should be left at stock, not auto. Manually set the ram timings at 5-5-5-15.

ASUS P5Q PRO P45 Motherboard Review Hope the review helps.
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 29, 2009, 02:13 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Set the PCI-E speed to 101
I don't know if this is still required (I do however still do it myself... :) ). It's a throwback from some older motherboards which didn't lock the bus speed unless you manually selected something other than default.
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2009, 03:33 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 138
Default

ok so I've got it at a stable 4 ghz... tested and everything, but I want to see how far I can push it.
I'm a little concerned with the voltage levels though. Currently I have vcore set to 1.4 with 50C and 1.4 under load. I know there's some more head room, I'm just a little cautious.
As far I know, increasing voltage only increases heat. If heat gets to about 60s stop right?
Does increasing voltage affect anything else?

Also, RAM. It's running at 1:1 right now but I wanna see how far I can push that too.... What option would I use to do that? FSB strap to NB, dram voltage, or dram frequency? All of the above?
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old February 4, 2009, 03:59 AM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 14,493

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by serenity View Post
ok so I've got it at a stable 4 ghz... tested and everything, but I want to see how far I can push it.
I'm a little concerned with the voltage levels though. Currently I have vcore set to 1.4 with 50C and 1.4 under load. I know there's some more head room, I'm just a little cautious.
As far I know, increasing voltage only increases heat. If heat gets to about 60s stop right?
Does increasing voltage affect anything else?
Heat isn't the only concern.

The new(er) C2Ds aren't quite the same Tanks (WRT Vcore) as older models. Conventional wisdom is that 1.45 is the safe max for 24/7 operation. There were many early reports of people with higher Vcore losing their upper OC within a few months when the E8400s were first released.

The most likely culprit for this would be that as the process gets smaller, it's easier for electrons to jump (do the electrons jump, or the holes??? :) ) from one trace to another as you raise current.



Quote:
Also, RAM. It's running at 1:1 right now but I wanna see how far I can push that too.... What option would I use to do that? FSB strap to NB, dram voltage, or dram frequency? All of the above
Yes, Yes, and Yes.... :)

Keep in mind though that FSB strap is also going to affect your CPU speed, and memory bandwidth so that's generally not the way to go unless you're benching to find the absolute highest memory clockspeed.

Work with dram freq, and as you raise that, you may have to also do incremental bumps to dram voltage and/or northbridge V.

Good to hear that you've finally got it up to 4G!!!!
__________________
MSI Z87I Gaming AC / i5 4670K / 2X 4G Gskill 1866 DDR3 / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 680 SC+ 2GB / Intel DC S3700 200G / random 160G Sata HDD
Inwin 904 / Swiftech MCP655-b / Alphacool NexXxos XT45 120 Rad / 2X Scythe GT AP-15 / EK Supreme HF / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / 320G Seagate Momentus / Mini-Box M350 / 1X 22" Dell IPS / 1X 22" HP
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A few questions on overclocking my E8400 and 4870 lanken123 Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 16 January 11, 2009 07:49 PM
Need help overclocking my E8400 please BlueRice Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 December 12, 2008 02:27 PM
First attempt at Overclocking my E8400 Mishtar Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 27 November 14, 2008 11:24 AM
Guides for Overclocking E8400 w P5QL Pro mb inf3kt Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 18 November 11, 2008 01:15 PM
Problems with Overclocking my e8400 Tumdace Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 66 March 12, 2008 01:44 AM