Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2007, 08:19 AM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 449
Default Asus question

Intelligent Overclocking Tools
AI NOS
AI Overclocking
ASUS PEG Link
ASUS AI Booster utility

This stuff comes with the better Asus mobos , seems its for ocing from the desktop.Is it usable in reality or is all useless hype ?
Is best ocing done from within the bios ?
__________________
ASUS Z97-A
4690K @ 4.5 ghz
G-Skill ripjaw ddr3 , 8 gig @ 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 AMP! Edition
(previous)Sapphire RX 480 Nito +
Evo 212
Corsair 750 watt
Windows 10 Pro 64

Last edited by Jim; May 28, 2007 at 08:24 AM.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2007, 09:07 AM
slugbug's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal Area
Posts: 540
Default

I tried overclocking with Asus AI on my A8N-E and could only manage a 10% OC. I disabled it and used the bios instead to get a 25% OC.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2007, 10:53 AM
Scratch's Avatar
MVP
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Victoria BC Canada
Posts: 374

My System Specs

Default

disable it all and do it yourself
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2007, 02:38 PM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 449
Default

thanks guys , sounds like Asus is selling the sizzle not the steak
__________________
ASUS Z97-A
4690K @ 4.5 ghz
G-Skill ripjaw ddr3 , 8 gig @ 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 AMP! Edition
(previous)Sapphire RX 480 Nito +
Evo 212
Corsair 750 watt
Windows 10 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2007, 02:44 PM
Wankerfx's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 583
Default

The only useful tool I found was the PC PROBE II.
__________________
[ER]
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2007, 05:05 PM
Supergrover's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Okanagan Falls, British Columbia
Posts: 4,336

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim View Post
Is best ocing done from within the bios ?
Yes!

Always overclock in your BIOS not through windows.
I have/do use programs like Clockgen and a64 tweaker when I am finding my overclock limits, they are always a temporary thing though .
__________________
R.I.P.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 3.0charlie View Post
My knuckles are bleeding from fishing through walls a new CAT6 network cable... I found fresh, untapped electrical outlets...
"It's all in the Reflexes"-Jack Burton
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old May 28, 2007, 06:19 PM
sswilson's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton NB
Posts: 16,602

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Supergrover View Post
Yes!

Always overclock in your BIOS not through windows.
I have/do use programs like Clockgen and a64 tweaker when I am finding my overclock limits, they are always a temporary thing though .
Heh.... and more often than not a software OC cannot be replicated in bios. Depending on the chipset (nF4 was really bad for this....) an OC which seems stable in windows from a software OC will not make it past the HD controller..... :)
__________________
Gigabyte Z97N-WIFI / i7 4770K / 2X 8G Gskill 1866 Sniper / XFX XTR 750 / EVGA GTX 970 SSC ACX 2.0+
Corsair 380T / Corsair H100i GTX AIO/ Intel 730 Series 480GB SSD / Seagate Barracuda 1TB / Dell UltraSharp U2412M

Asrock AM1H-ITX / AM1 Athlon 5350 / 2X4G Gskill PC3-14900 / Intel 6235 Wi-Fi / 90W Targus Power Brick / Uncased 256GB Sandisk Z400S SSD / Mini-Box M350 / 24" Westinghouse L2410NM
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old May 29, 2007, 09:22 AM
Jim's Avatar
Jim Jim is offline
MVP
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: an hour out of Calgary
Posts: 449
Default

great answers , thanks
__________________
ASUS Z97-A
4690K @ 4.5 ghz
G-Skill ripjaw ddr3 , 8 gig @ 1600
ZOTAC GeForce GTX 1080 AMP! Edition
(previous)Sapphire RX 480 Nito +
Evo 212
Corsair 750 watt
Windows 10 Pro 64
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SLI question gimark Video Cards 3 February 7, 2008 09:54 AM
ups question t0m Power Supplies 5 January 10, 2008 02:04 AM
RAM question Salavat23 RAM 18 December 24, 2007 08:31 AM
UPS question the_bandit87 Networking 5 December 19, 2007 06:22 PM
ASUS Maximus Extreme Question? LegendofJubei CPU's and Motherboards 9 November 23, 2007 10:11 PM