Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #11 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 09:28 PM
thenewguy001's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 844
Default

obligatory lolcat picture


__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.0 GHz
2 x 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws X
Patriot Pyro 240GB
Gigabyte HD 6970 OC
Gigabyte Z68X-UDH3-B3
Seasonic 760W
Coolermaster Hyper 212+
CM690 w/ 1-80mm, 6-120mm fans.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 09:38 PM
Eagle Eye's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Kleinburg, ON
Posts: 2,069

My System Specs

Default

Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old January 20, 2009, 10:38 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Eagle Eye View Post
Great job chilly, one possible suggestions is another colour for the text above the pictures thats a tough read even for us young guys with not as bad eye sight as the ol'wise ones around here.
Done, I made it a darker grey.

Quote:
Originally Posted by thenewguy001 View Post
obligatory lolcat picture
Who names their cat "SpeedStep"??
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old January 21, 2009, 07:00 AM
matsta31's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Montreal
Posts: 2,204
Default

Wow great job.

even if the next ''new to overclocking poster'' does not read it, we can just make answer with a link !!!

If we were on NCIX I would tip and rate your post !
__________________

Sold hardware again.....
Currently using WHS hardware....
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2009, 09:47 AM
Jake_HT's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 1,986

My System Specs

Default

Where's the rest? !
__________________
http://jakeht.deviantart.com/
Reply With Quote
  #16 (permalink)  
Old January 27, 2009, 05:08 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Posts: 3,344
Default

Nice info Chilly.. Lots of people keep asking around about this, very informative.
__________________
Intel E8400, Biostar TPower i45
G-Skill PC2-8500 4GB, Saphire HD4870 512mb
Cooler Master HAF 932, Enermax Galaxy DXX 1000W
Samsung 931BW 19" LCD, Logitech MX Revolution
Reply With Quote
  #17 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2009, 01:49 PM
WolfBane's Avatar
Allstar
F@H
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: new bruinswick
Posts: 880
Default

Ok so i read your post:)
very informative ! If i understood it lol speed step powers down my chip when nnot needed ???
But is this a really good thing?
Should i disable speedstep or leave it alone?
and if i do disable it , How do i disable it ?
Reply With Quote
  #18 (permalink)  
Old February 6, 2009, 02:37 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfBane View Post
Ok so i read your post:)
very informative ! If i understood it lol speed step powers down my chip when nnot needed ???
But is this a really good thing?
Should i disable speedstep or leave it alone?
and if i do disable it , How do i disable it ?
I suggest you re-read the post again, I answer the "should you disable it or leave it on" in the "leave it on or off" section . But yes your correct, all SpeedStep does is power down your chip when its not needed/not in use. Once you re-read the part about leaving it on or off, and if you decide to turn it off, there are 2 ways to disable SpeedStep. The easiest way is through software.

Seeing that your using Vista, here is how you do it; Post above updated, read above post for how to "disable" speedstep in Vista.

I'll work on and finish the "How to disable" sections later today. I really should get around to finishing this thread.

Last edited by Chilly; June 27, 2009 at 11:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #19 (permalink)  
Old May 27, 2009, 12:01 PM
somecanadianguy's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: somecanadiancity
Posts: 1,118

My System Specs

Default


Good info!

A couple things I've noticed...
Voltages don't appear to change unless they're set to 'auto' in BIOS.
I have EIST and C1E enabled and don't see any voltages drop when bclk and multi drop.

Also, with EIST and C1E enabled in BIOS and "high performance" power setting in Vista, idle wattage still appears to drop even though nothing else does.

Am I doing something wrong?
Is this safe?

Last edited by somecanadianguy; May 27, 2009 at 12:11 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #20 (permalink)  
Old June 27, 2009, 11:02 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Working on updating posts, will be adding some information how turbo is affected/works as a part of SpeedStep in the other notes section.

Quote:
Originally Posted by somecanadianguy View Post
Am I doing something wrong?
Is this safe?
You are doing nothing wrong, voltage drop during idle periods while the multiplier is dropped is a feature of SpeedStep, but one I've never seen implemented outside of laptops.

As for why your seeing the wattage drops, despite no voltage change, this is because EIST and C1E and change the state inside your CPU, effectively turning off unused parts to save power. There is nothing wrong, and it is entirely safe.
__________________
"Let's face it, we're not changing the world. We're building a product that helps people buy more crap - and watch porn."
Bill Watkins, CEO Seagate Technology

Dual Xeon X5650 @ 4.1GHz | EVGA Classified SR-2
2x4GB G.Skill at 1496MHz (9-9-9-24) | XFX 4890 XXX 1GB at 1000/1000MHz
Intel SSD X25-M 80GB Gen2 | Western Digital 1TB Black | SilverStone Zeus 1200W
Sound Blaster X-Fi XtremeMusic | Sony MDR-V700 | Windows Seven x64


Stuff for Sale! You must buy it, you can't look away!

Last edited by Chilly; June 27, 2009 at 11:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Whats my best option trayton Video Cards 5 December 27, 2008 11:22 PM
whats the difference between these two? Zippoh RAM 3 November 3, 2008 01:33 AM
whats the cheapst MB and cpu Shadowmeph CPU's and Motherboards 10 May 22, 2008 07:27 AM
whats this mean ? Jim CPU's and Motherboards 8 July 25, 2007 06:39 AM
Whats your opinion on this? ragenrok RAM 11 April 25, 2007 05:30 AM