Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 12:53 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 74

My System Specs

Default AMD 5000 X2 over Amd 940

Hi guys, I currently have the following:

MSI K9N2 Platinum
5000+ x2 3ghz
4 gig corsair xms2
2x 8800 GTS 512mb
Corsair 620 watts

Will the 940 boost my performance by much ? I game alot with my pc .I have a feeling my 5000+ is bottle necking my SLI setup. Should I wait for price drops for 940?
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 03:44 PM
Exmortis's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 172
Default

Hard to say, you get a 3.0 GHz per core 4 core CPU. So if game supports more then 2 cores you will get instant bonus. Most of the newer Phenom II tests used a older Athlon 64 X2 for comparison and in all cases it was a very big upgrade on newer games, all but FEAR if memory serves. Your board is AM2, not AM2+ so you lose a little with the HT not able to ramp up, but not sure what this will translate into for actual performance loss.

I traded my 6400+ X2 for phenom II 940 and when my new mobo comes in with PSU I will fire it up. I should think if your a FPS gamer (probably are with SLI) you would see a sizable gain in newer multi-core aware games and a small but noticable one in older games. Hard to say wehn price drop will be, I mean its a great deal, latest proc on older board, BIOS only upgrade needed!!!

Check some of the Phenom II reviews, for comparsison, though rememebr they were all done on AM2+ boards I believe. I am on travel or I would linkl the one review I am thinking of with a athlon64 X2 used for comparison, it was what tipped the scales for me. And my 6400+ X2 like you, was starting to show its age. I am hoping dragon age can use 4 cores!!!!
__________________
Exmortis's System

Corsair 600T White
Asus RoG Maximus V Gene
Intel i7-2600K w/Corsair H100
16GB Gskill DDR3 2400MHz
AMD R9 290X
OCZ Revo 3 240GB
OCZ Vertex 3 240GB
WD Velocirapter 600GB
LG DVD burner
LG Bluray Burner
Windows 7x64 Prem
Asus VE24/VE27/VE24
Logitech Z-5450 5.1 speakers
Corsair AX850 Gold PSU
Corsair K90 Keyboard
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 06:23 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 74

My System Specs

Default

thanks alot man
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 06:26 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 74

My System Specs

Default

Almost forgot my board is am2+ and am3 ready. have a look

MSI -- MICRO-STAR INT'L CO., LTD.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 19, 2009, 06:58 PM
JD's Avatar
JD JD is offline
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Toronto, ON
Posts: 6,895

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JerryZ View Post
Almost forgot my board is am2+ and am3 ready. have a look

MSI -- MICRO-STAR INT'L CO., LTD.
Just make sure you're running the latest BIOS before you swap CPUs.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
5000+ BE or regular 6000+ Scart CPU's and Motherboards 4 September 17, 2008 10:20 PM
Watercooling an AMD Athlon 5000+ BE BALISTX Water Cooling 14 July 20, 2008 01:00 PM
Little help please: 5000+ X2 vs BFG GTS 512mb PEIGuy Video Cards 14 April 24, 2008 10:18 AM
Lg 226wtq 5000:1 ! Babrbarossa Display Units 6 October 13, 2007 10:54 AM