Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old January 12, 2009, 10:09 PM
Top Prospect
F@H

Default Temperature Too Low?

Hi guys,

I recently purchased an Intel e5200 and a Gigabyte EP45-DS3L and have begun to tinker with it. I have overclocked the e5200 slightly, with the vcore at 1.216 (cpu-z) and the speed at 3.2ghz (320 x 10). When I first installed everything and booted up, I tried to get an overclock of 3.6 but even at the voltage previously stated, I could not reach my goal. Once I settled for 3.2 so I could boot into windows, I ran coretemp and strangely enough I am getting rougly 15 degrees average for both cores. I am not very experienced with temperature, seeing as how my last build was an AMD 4200 which idled at about 42 degrees. Is this right or is there something wrong? Also, what is a safe voltage I could bump my cpu to so that I can increase the FSB?

Old January 12, 2009, 10:36 PM
F@H

My System Specs

The farther your temps are away from TJmax, the more inaccurate the sensors are on Intel chips. As long as the temp rises when you load the machine, you're ok.

As for voltages, the max most people are willing to put into the 45nm chips is 1.4V for 24/7 use. If you're at 1.2 something, you've got lots of room to play yet. Just keep an eye on your load temps with RealTemp or Coretemp. They give the most accurate readings (you can even calibrate your temps with RealTemp apparently). Keep your load temps under 65, and put the juice to it!
Old January 12, 2009, 10:41 PM
Top Prospect
F@H

Thanks for the quick reply!

What exactly is TJmax?

Old January 12, 2009, 10:55 PM
Hall Of Fame
F@H

My System Specs

TJ Maxx: Womens, Mens, Juniors and Kids Clothing Store

On a serious note