Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 02:44 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Unhappy Multi-motherboard Computer

I am new to computer internals but want to build a custom... I was wondering if it is possible to piggyback motherboards... (having them able to communicate hopefully doubling processing power)
:help:






Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 03:01 PM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,075

My System Specs

Default

The simple answer is no. You won't be able to tie 2 mobos, CPU's, FSB's, Ram Channels, etc. together. It's way beyond what 99.9% of us can do.

That being said, there are mobo's out there that are multisocket, like Skulltrail from Intel and server mobo's. They are expensive, and unless you are trying to run a render farm they are not worth spending the money on for personal use.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 03:16 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

Here's an interesting read http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Beowulf_(computing)
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 03:24 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cptn Vortex View Post
Beowulf (computing) - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Fixed for ya.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 03:34 PM
Cptn Vortex's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 3,726
Default

How did you do that, you must be magic.
__________________
The Vortex H20

Coolermaster ATCS 840 w Window panel
MSI Z77A-GD65
Intel i7 3770K @ 4.6GHZ 1.28v
Galaxy GTX 680 @ 1241MHZ
8GB Mushkin Blackline 1600MHZ 9-9-9-24 1.5v
Asus Xonar Essence STX
OCZ Z-Series GOLD 850W
2 x 128GB Corsair Force GT SATA3 SSD RAID0 :)
Acheiva Shimian Q270 Lite 2560x1440

Benq W500 Pojector.

Watercooling:
EK Supreme HF, EK FC GTX 680 Block, MCR320+Gelid Silent 12 Push/Pull, DD Pump, EK Multioption 100ml Res, EK Coolstream XT 220 RAD Gelid Wings Push/Pull.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 04:08 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 439
Default

To double the processing power, you either have to add more cores or more sockets.

If you already have a Quad core, there isn't much room to go up (unless you're using a 7400 series Intel known as Dunnington which supports 6 cores)

You could go multiple sockets, but as a rule these builds are VERY expensive. Hell, the 6 core Dunnington is around $3k per CPU.


Cheapest way is to cluster.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 08:22 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2
Default

Thank you I figured that it wasn't that plausible from the fact that you don't hear of it

Thanks Anyway it was more of a hope than anything
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old January 8, 2009, 10:55 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dragoth View Post
Thank you I figured that it wasn't that plausible from the fact that you don't hear of it

Thanks Anyway it was more of a hope than anything
Well it IS possible, its basicly what F@H and Rosetta@Home are, super computer power by way of millions of random computers crunching/folding for them. Most supercomputers are simply a complex beowulf cluster.

That all being said, you would need to writer your own special applications that are uber threaded can can be split among many computers. Theres very few outside of rendering software that is accessible to the common consumer.

In the context of simply getting games, or OS's in general to run faster, no its not really possible. Hope that answered all of your questions, if not feel free to ask!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Multi Monitors Infiniti Display Units 1 December 7, 2008 09:55 AM
multi purpose panel andynerd Peripherals 5 August 4, 2008 06:41 PM
Multi-Touch in Windows 7 Hardware Canucks Press Releases & Tech News 0 May 28, 2008 11:25 AM
RAM vs Mhz for Multi-Monitoring Lyxtwing Video Cards 6 January 23, 2008 08:53 AM
Multi-PI for multi-cores? francois methot Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 17 May 5, 2007 02:18 PM