Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2008, 03:54 PM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 104
Default Ocing necessary? and is it something a newb can do?

I've been thinking about overclocking my E8400 but I'm worried I might mess and up and fry it. would there be a large performance increase if I were to OC it to 3.5ghz? and is it necessary to OC my GPU too?


E8400-4870-P5Q Pro
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2008, 04:01 PM
Chilly's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Ontario
Posts: 2,593
Default

OCing is NEVER necessary, its mostly something thats done for fun to squeeze some extra performance out of our hardware. That being said, with proper cooling OC'ing isn't hard, nor dangerous.

The 4870 will most likely clock nicely even with the stock cooler. As for the the E8400, I see obtaining it 3.6GHz effortlessly if not more with proper cooling. Heres a few articles to read before you decide to jump into it. Keep in mind that they might outdated info as I believe they were written for 65nm(E6xxx, Q6xxx) C2D's. Regradless, most(95%) of the information is still valid.

HEXUS.net - Guide :: Intel Core 2 Duo basic overclocking guide for beginners : Page - 1/9
HOWTO: Overclock C2D Quads and C2D Duals - A Guide v1.0 - [H]ard|Forum

Last edited by Chilly; December 23, 2008 at 04:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2008, 05:16 PM
Babrbarossa's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: New Brunswick
Posts: 3,673

My System Specs

Default

You can overclock the e8400 quickly and easily (and quite significantly if you have decent aftermarket cooling). A shame not to if you ask me. You don't need to overclock your GPU either, but it's also easy with the overlcocking utilities out there.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2008, 07:44 PM
enaberif's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Calgahree, AB
Posts: 10,679
Default

Overclocking to 3.5 isn't much of an overclock for a 8400.

If you wish to overclock and want to see some performance aim for like 3.8-4ghz

Last edited by enaberif; December 23, 2008 at 07:50 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2008, 08:20 PM
belgolas's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: St. Thomas, Ontario
Posts: 3,954

My System Specs

Default

Well overclock is very easy to do. I also learned from this forum on how to overclock and it is so simple you wonder why everybody isn't doing it.
__________________

Sponsor a child!
Fight poverty.

Qoute by Perineum
"ID10T. I just BETCHA he's got 9 toolbars on his web browser right now."
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 08:04 AM
magictorch's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Annapolis Valley, NS
Posts: 1,838

My System Specs

Default

It depends on your GPU and what you use the system for.

The most powerful cards or cards in SLI/CF can become bottle-necked unless your running strong cpu clocks. I've noticed huge gains in performance when gaming in newer games like Farcry. For some of the older games though its not a big deal.

Overclocking isnt hard but you need to know what bios settings to tweak and leave alone. Also readup on the "safe" limits for oc voltages for your chip etc if you dont want to degrade your chip. There are plenty of guides out there for core2 ocing etc. RAM overclocking is more difficult if you want to fine-tune the timings.
__________________
White Night:: i7920 (4ghz), Rampage III extreme (A1), Mushkin XP 1600 (9,9,9,24),SLI480., white MM horizon.
CPU: Feser 220 int.|Apogee GTZ|S.Res.rev2| MCP655.

GPU: PA120.3|S.Res.rev2|2x EK FC blocks| MCP655.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 25, 2008, 01:04 AM
burebista's Avatar
Allstar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Romania
Posts: 599

My System Specs

Default

Do you have any problems in games with stock E8400 and HD4870? In what resolution do you play?
Or you're just curious? :)
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2008, 12:34 PM
MVP
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Cambridge, ON.
Posts: 499
Default

If you have an Asus motherboard(I don't know about other makes) lots have say a 3, 5 or 10% whatever OC auto setting in the cmos\bios.
Does it all for you automatically setting it up.
Check you manual of your motherboard.
Make sure you have good ram.
In any case be sure you have an adequete cpu cooler with case cooling.
Some supplied cpu coolers are fine, like the revised old AMD Opty copper pipe style with oversized fan cpu.
Of cousre overclocking is not a mandatory thing.
Many good cpu's say intel quad cores you shouldn't really need to do it.
Those should be moving along quite well at stock mhz. parameters.
But some people like to play around.
__________________
Cambridge,ON
MSI Z77 M Power/Bios17.13b1
3770K@4.5ghz
Mushkin #997007
Noctua NH-D14
Gigabyte GTX 660
Seasonic X-660
Corsair 540 Cube
Noctua case fans
Intel Speed Demon x 2

using Prime 95 27.9


Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 28, 2008, 01:15 PM
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,221

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zippoh View Post
I've been thinking about overclocking my E8400 but I'm worried I might mess and up and fry it. would there be a large performance increase if I were to OC it to 3.5ghz? and is it necessary to OC my GPU too?


E8400-4870-P5Q Pro
OCing is NEVER a necessity - unless you want bragging rights and squeeze every little frame count to feel good about it Otherwise if you have an already decent CPU and GPU there is only so much your eye can see in frame rate - and chances are it's already high as it is so as long as you get decent, smooth, playable rates, you probably won't want to - unless your frame count is average and you want that extra 10fps - if you have the right CPU, GPU, motherboard and cooling you can do some decent OCing, but if you are new to this you should read up on the internet or ask people who'Ve done it - just make sure when you OC that you do it by small increments at a time and always monitor your temps and check the stability - hardcore overclockers get the best results, otherwise the little you'll get might not be worth the trouble.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 29, 2008, 04:32 PM
Silvgearx's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 2,105

My System Specs

Default

Overclocking is a must for budget gamer like myself , For a 3ghz cpu it cost about $200 but i got a $80 to run at 3.0ghz Although i am losing about 10%-30% performance of FPS comparing from the E2180 to the E8400 due to the side of L2 cashe , who cares i am still using a 17"crt
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
OCing RAM DavidDemise Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 1 August 26, 2008 01:56 AM
newb question Jarod_g29 CPU's and Motherboards 1 February 27, 2008 06:49 PM
OCing help please SpateD Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 4 January 23, 2008 09:38 AM
Newb overclocker looking for advice... S1RE Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 3 November 5, 2007 05:26 PM
A64 ocing questions Jim Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 62 April 7, 2007 04:56 PM