Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2008, 09:33 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 143
Default are my readouts correct?

Just double checking, I want to be sure that this is good news here:

I reseated my fan almost a week ago, because it wasnt seated properly this time. I installed folding software yesterday, and have since been running my cpu at 100% solid, mainly as a stress test. I will be turning down the % a little bit later.

CoreTemp is giving me a readout, UNDER FULL LOAD, of 34degrees on one core and 35 on the other.
Real Temp is giving me 31 degrees and 32 degrees.


Is this for real? Seems awesome-fantasticly low to me!

Im running a stock xeon e3110 with a freezer 7 pro, in an antec 900.

If these temps are alright, how far do you think i could get a reasonable overclock on the cpu (I have patriot ddr3 1333mhz ram and an asus p5q3 deluxe wifi mobo)? Purely speculation, I understand, but these numbers are unnatural, to me at least...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2008, 09:41 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

I don't think that's completely out of whack, but that does seem pretty good. Are you using the latest versions of those temp programs? What are you using to load the processor?
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2008, 09:44 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 143
Default

Im using rosetta@home 100% cpu, and I tried to find the latest and greatest editions of the temp programs.

give me a min and Ill load up prime95
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2008, 09:55 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 143
Default

Yeah, prime95 bumps them a bit higher.
39/40 for coretemp
33/35 for real temp
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2008, 10:14 AM
SugarJ's Avatar
Moderator
F@H
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Langley, BC
Posts: 6,103

My System Specs

Default

Which version of coretemp are you using?

Version 0.99.3 has the correct TJmax values for 45nm chips which were published and then disappeared on Intel's site in August. Regardless, your temps are good. I had similar temp readings with my E8400 and a cheap OCZ hsf at stock.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2008, 10:26 AM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,144
Default

Yeah, those temps look a little more normal. The sensors in the 45nm chips are notoriously inaccurate, the further away from TjMax you get. If you want, going through the calibration hoops that Realtemp offers might give you more 'correct' temperatures, but I'd consider it a moot point. You've definitely got some headroom to work with, if you want to overclock that chip.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 21, 2008, 10:44 AM
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Posts: 143
Default

Great. Thanks for the check guys.

ANd yeah, Im using .99.3 for coretemp.

Ill keep you posted on how the overclock goes (pun intended).
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware Monitoring - What's correct. Malam Air Cooling 7 December 21, 2008 08:53 AM