Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2008, 10:16 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default First x58 mobo under $300 (In Canada)?

Would this be the first mobo thats under 300$ in Canada? NCIX.com - Buy Gigabyte GA-EX58-DS4 ATX LGA1366 X58 DDR3 3PCI-E SATA2 RAID Sound GBLAN 3-WAY CrossFireX Motherboard - GA-EX58-DS4 In Canada.

And how is it? The specs look okay, but what do you guys think? And how does it compare to the Extreme version?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2008, 10:18 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Mainly; it is Crossfire ONLY, no SLI.

It dosn't have some of the options that the UD5 does etc but otherwise it's pretty decent!
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2008, 10:19 PM
Infiniti's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 1,388

My System Specs

Default

How'd I miss that?

Yeah, since I'm going SLI, this board is a no-go.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2008, 10:37 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Yeah it dosn't really say it but it's the only X58 I've seen NOT list SLI so.
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2008, 10:44 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,929

My System Specs

Default

I just ordered the board today, but according to the Gigabyte site it only supports Crossfire. Which is fine for me.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 18, 2008, 10:46 PM
LCB001's Avatar
Folding Captain
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Aylmer QC.
Posts: 1,774

My System Specs

Default

This is the one I want. 6 pci-e slots, and it has the extra nforce 200 chip so 3 full 16x slots. ASUSTeK Computer Inc.

And don't forget this;

ASUS Heartbeat
Brightly and vividly lighting LEDs shine around the ASUS brand name on the motherboard after successful booting process. With the breath-like deep blue lighting shining in regular tempo, ASUS Heartbeat makes the motherboard as vivid as life.



__________________
Folding For Team 54196

Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 24, 2008, 07:59 PM
lowfat's Avatar
Moderator
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 7,929

My System Specs

Default

An FYI to anyone considering this board. The first PCIe 1x slot is completely useless as I don't know of any retail sound cards that will fit. The NB heatsink is too high and prevents and cards from going in. So now I have to decide on either I go with no soundcard, or I drop my RAID array

EDIT: I lied, if you remove the silly Gigabyte logo off the HSF and remove the 'shield' off of an X-Fi Titanium it fits

Last edited by lowfat; December 24, 2008 at 08:33 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2008, 07:30 PM
squilliam's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 83
Default

lol, why is it that practically EVERY motherboard supports at least SOME kind of crossfire but at the same time a much smaller percentage support any kind of SLI?
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2008, 07:35 PM
MpG's Avatar
MpG MpG is offline
Hall Of Fame
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Kitchener, ON
Posts: 3,143
Default

Because there is still a licensing fee that Nvidia charges for SLI to be available on the X58 boards.
__________________
i7 2600K | ASUS Maximus IV GENE-Z | 580GTX | Corsair DDR3-2133
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old December 26, 2008, 07:39 PM
encorp's Avatar
Hall Of Fame
F@H
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 3,425

My System Specs

Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by MpG View Post
Because there is still a licensing fee that Nvidia charges for SLI to be available on the X58 boards.
And a chip that needs to go on the board!
__________________
DISCLAIMER: The views and opinions expressed in the immediately preceding post are those of encorp and do not reflect the views and/or opinions of family, friends, or anyone remotely associated with encorp unless explicitly stated. encorp does not make any warranty, express or implied, or assumes any liability or responsibility for the quality, factuality or use of information in the immediately preceding post.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
No More F1 in Canada :( SKYMTL Off Topic 10 October 7, 2008 04:05 PM
FS-s939 X2-3800, OCZ ram, Ac Freezer 64 Pro, ASRock mobo, DFI mobo, Asus mobo..more stoanee Buy/Sell & Trade 14 June 7, 2008 06:24 PM
FS: Retail e6600 ---- DFI 975X Mobo ----- Logitech X-530 ------ LF: Phenom Mobo thatguy Buy/Sell & Trade 15 May 1, 2008 09:38 PM
Can shorting a mobo, on the case, ruin that said mobo? mattlef CPU's and Motherboards 25 April 23, 2008 03:00 PM
WTB: TI-83 Plus [Canada] Wankerfx Buy/Sell & Trade 3 February 2, 2008 04:16 PM