Go Back   Hardware Canucks > HARDWARE > CPU's and Motherboards

    
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 01:30 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 38
Default ASUS Maximus Extreme

Ok, first off, I just want to say I absolutely love this motherboard. The thing is half-copper and with the watercooling runs very very cool.

I do have a slight issue, and haven't been able to find anything on the ASUS forums regarding my problem. I was thinking if there are any other Maximus Extreme owners out there, perhaps they could shed light on what is happening.

Sometimes my motherboard gets in a funky state. I know exactly how to put it in this state, and I know exactly how to get it out too, but I know it is not by design.

How to cause issue:
- Try to turn on PC within 5-15 seconds of shutting down (case power button only).

Symptons to know you're in the funky state:
- Subsequent times pressing case power button will flash all LEDs on motherboard and system will then immediately turn off again.

How to fix - Method 1:
- Hold down case power button for four seconds. Wait a few seconds, then press case power button.

How to fix - Method 2:
- Disconnect Power Supply or flip PS switch (This method is not recommended because when the motherboard is in this funky state, the BIOS settings will revert to the defaults when loading again). Press case power button.

How to fix - Method 3:
- Turn on power from power button on motherboard. (This method is not recommended because when the motherboard is in this funky state, the BIOS settings will sometimes revert to the defaults).

All and all, this isn't a major issue. But I'm just curious to know what is going on. I do love this motherboard though. It is an overclockers dream. It has every feature I've ever wanted on a motherboard.
__________________
__________________
CPU: E8600 (3.33 GHz)
MOTHERBOARD: ASUS Maximus Extreme
VIDEO:
ASUS Radeon 4870X2 (2 x 750 MHz, 2 x 1GB DDR5)
MEMORY: 8GB RAM (4 x 2 GB DDR3-1333MHz 7-7-7-20)
DISK: Seagate Barracuda 1TB (2 x 500GB)
WATER COOLING: Tt Bigwater 780e for CPU
WATER COOLING: Tt Bigwater 760i for GPU
WATER BLOCK CPU: Tt LGA775 Copper Block (3/8" fittings)
WATER BLOCK GPU: Danger Den 4870X2 Copper Block (1/2" fittings)
WATER BLOCK CHIPSET: ASUS Onboard Copper Block
OS: VISTA 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 05:17 PM
morphine's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 171
Default

Are you using a Thermaltake Toughpower power supply by chance?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old December 16, 2008, 05:50 PM
Lithotech's Avatar
MVP
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: North Vancouver Rain Belt
Posts: 409
Default

In the BIOS, under power settings, what is the power button set to do? Is it set to "Standby" the computer, or "Shut Down"?

Since you have to hold the button for 4 seconds, it sounds like the computer is going into standby when you think it is shutting down. The funky state could be caused by a driver (missing or unoptimized) preventing the system to come out of sleep, or perhaps you are just putting it to sleep again when hitting the power button again.

.
__________________
eVGA 680i SLI (A1) P31
Intel Q6700 Kentsfield | Scythe Ninja-B | Antec Tri-Cool 80cfm
4GB (4x1024MB) Corsair Dominator 8500
boot: 4x WD Caviar SE16 250gb SATA2 Raid-0
backup: Seagate 500gb 32mb SATA2
eye: eVGA 9800GTX+ SC 512mb 770/2.25ghz
candy: Samsung 940B-HAS | X-Fi XMusic | Pioneer DVR-212D SATA
juice: PC Power & Cooling 750Quad | Cooler Master HAF932
steering: Logitech G15 & G5 | E3D Pro/Momo Wheel | X-530's
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 07:03 AM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 38
Default

I've checked that in the BIOS settings previously. For all my PC's I always set the button to "Shut Down".

Suspiciously enough... I am using a Thermaltake Toughpower 1000W Modular PS. You think that is the problem?
__________________
__________________
CPU: E8600 (3.33 GHz)
MOTHERBOARD: ASUS Maximus Extreme
VIDEO:
ASUS Radeon 4870X2 (2 x 750 MHz, 2 x 1GB DDR5)
MEMORY: 8GB RAM (4 x 2 GB DDR3-1333MHz 7-7-7-20)
DISK: Seagate Barracuda 1TB (2 x 500GB)
WATER COOLING: Tt Bigwater 780e for CPU
WATER COOLING: Tt Bigwater 760i for GPU
WATER BLOCK CPU: Tt LGA775 Copper Block (3/8" fittings)
WATER BLOCK GPU: Danger Den 4870X2 Copper Block (1/2" fittings)
WATER BLOCK CHIPSET: ASUS Onboard Copper Block
OS: VISTA 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 07:15 AM
morphine's Avatar
Top Prospect
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Mississauga
Posts: 171
Default

I can pretty much guarantee it.
I had the same issue with my Asus Striker Extreme and my 1200W Toughpower back in July 2007.
Here was my post on the Thermaltake forum:
Tt :: View topic - 1200W WS0133RU - issue from cold boot
Other people also had issues, always with Asus motherboards. I went through the RMA process for a new power supply, and it still had the exact same issue. I eventually just moved to other brands of motherboards.
I have seen a post (I think on xtremesystems) that reported that using the two 4+4 pin power connectors on the motherboard, instead of the 8-pin, solved the issue. Another user reported that moving the load around (peripherals on different rails) helped. I would lean towards trying the 4+4 pin connector myself.
I am going to be going through this again myself soon I am sure, as I just purchased an Asus x58 board for my new build. Time to gird my loins...
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old December 17, 2008, 07:44 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 38
Default

Such a shame. I do like this power supply. The thing never gets hot yet it is powering so much.

I'll try the 4+4 configuration and see if that changes the behaviour of my motherboard.

Thanks for the help. I guess this is a warning to all those ASUS motherboard users out there to not get a Thermaltake power supply.
__________________
__________________
CPU: E8600 (3.33 GHz)
MOTHERBOARD: ASUS Maximus Extreme
VIDEO:
ASUS Radeon 4870X2 (2 x 750 MHz, 2 x 1GB DDR5)
MEMORY: 8GB RAM (4 x 2 GB DDR3-1333MHz 7-7-7-20)
DISK: Seagate Barracuda 1TB (2 x 500GB)
WATER COOLING: Tt Bigwater 780e for CPU
WATER COOLING: Tt Bigwater 760i for GPU
WATER BLOCK CPU: Tt LGA775 Copper Block (3/8" fittings)
WATER BLOCK GPU: Danger Den 4870X2 Copper Block (1/2" fittings)
WATER BLOCK CHIPSET: ASUS Onboard Copper Block
OS: VISTA 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old December 23, 2008, 03:42 PM
Rookie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Toronto
Posts: 38
Default

switching to the 4+4 pin worked for me. thanks!
__________________
__________________
CPU: E8600 (3.33 GHz)
MOTHERBOARD: ASUS Maximus Extreme
VIDEO:
ASUS Radeon 4870X2 (2 x 750 MHz, 2 x 1GB DDR5)
MEMORY: 8GB RAM (4 x 2 GB DDR3-1333MHz 7-7-7-20)
DISK: Seagate Barracuda 1TB (2 x 500GB)
WATER COOLING: Tt Bigwater 780e for CPU
WATER COOLING: Tt Bigwater 760i for GPU
WATER BLOCK CPU: Tt LGA775 Copper Block (3/8" fittings)
WATER BLOCK GPU: Danger Den 4870X2 Copper Block (1/2" fittings)
WATER BLOCK CHIPSET: ASUS Onboard Copper Block
OS: VISTA 64-Bit
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
hhelp for oc my qx9650 maximus extreme ddr3 1600 ocz850psu rafael mendes Overclocking, Tweaking and Benchmarking 5 October 25, 2008 06:11 PM
FS: Spring clean-up: E8400, Q6600, E6400, Maximus Extreme.. 3.0charlie Buy/Sell & Trade 20 March 27, 2008 07:40 PM
Maximus Extreme SagManQc CPU's and Motherboards 35 December 21, 2007 07:15 PM
ASUS Maximus Extreme Question? LegendofJubei CPU's and Motherboards 9 November 23, 2007 09:11 PM
ASUS Maximus Extreme x38 Babrbarossa CPU's and Motherboards 0 November 17, 2007 09:30 AM